Skip to main content

EDUC1090 Adolescent Literature

Welcome to the Resource Guide for Education

Librarians Listed by Subject  |  Chat with a Librarian  |  General Guide to Research

 

Library Search Tool: Cross-search physical and electronic collections at Brown from the search box on the library homepage. This includes books, ebooks, journal articles, and most other materials in the Brown Library.

Google Scholar: Search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Use the Cited By link to find similar articles. Can be challenging to narrow searches.

Interlibrary Loan: If Brown does not have the item you are looking for, we will get it for you. The interlibrary loan office will track it from another library and get it to you.

 

Look for the Find It at Brown button for links to articles.

 

Articles are part of Journals. Journals are found either by title or through Databases.  Databases are found by title or subject.

What is a scholarly, peer reviewed article?

A scholarly source is a publication, such as a journal, that includes articles which document and discuss the results of original research. The author is usually one or all of the researchers who did the research. Publishing in a scholarly journal is a method researchers use to communicate their research and share with other scholars in their field of study. The content usually includes a review of literature previously published on this topic, methodology used in the study, and the findings. Articles in scholarly publications are also peer-reviewed, the process of review by a panel of experts to ensure that the article has met the requirements of a scholarly article.

What is a popular article?

A popular article appears in a magazine or newspaper. The content in these publications often covers current events or summarizes research done by others. The content in these publications is often brief, written in simple language, and often includes pictures and advertisements. Authors are not always named, and sources are not always identified.