"Curated as an aggregate for unpacking this historical case and highlighting its connection with contemporary inequalities concerning race and the criminalization of black youth in America," the site includes a historical narrative, period images and podcasts documenting the story of Emmett Till's life and the events surrouding his death. (A physical archive of primary and secondary sources pertaining to Till's murder can be found in the Emmett Till Archive at Florida State University).
Online collection containing approximately 7,400 items (38,000 images), spanning the years 1841-1964, with bulk of the material dating from 1862 to 1865. Note that many of Douglass’s earlier writings were destroyed when his house in Rochester, New York, burned in 1872.
Although not officially enrolled at Brown, Leonard Black studied privately with Brown President Francis Wayland in the mid-1840s -- the earliest African American student who is documented to have done so.
A freely available search hub for digital materials (still and moving images, sound, text) in African American history and culture. Searches materials from a wide variety of cultural institutions across the United States. (NOTE: the Brown University Library is a contributing partner to this project.)
A crowd-sourced project to transcribe for the web the printed proceedings of 19th century mass meetings held by African Americans for the purpose of creating institutions to advance communal life and advocate for social justice. Several CCP events have been sponsored on the Brown campus by the John Nicholas Brown Center for Public Humanities
1906-present; Index Islamicus is an international bibliography of publications in European languages covering all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages, and literature. The database includes material published by Western orientalists, social scientists and Muslims.
1975-present; Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Humanities International Index provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals and contains more than 1.5 million records. Humanities International Index includes deep backfiles for some of the most important journals in the area of humanities.