Representing over 150 years of athletics at Brown, this collection is an unparalleled resource of archival material relating to the study of Brown sports. Consisting of photographs, moving images, artifacts, posters, drawings, cartoons, administrative records, and publications, this collection traces the earliest days of athletic competition at Brown and Pembroke up through the modern era. This collection is supported through an endowment created by Jackson Robinson (Class of 1964), the grandson of famed Brown football coach Edward North Robinson.
Contact Special Collections via the Question Form to help you get started using our collections and staff expertise. Brown University Archives is part of Special Collections in the John Hay Library.
The Encyclopedia Brunoniana contains historical information about the sports listed below:
|
Athletics Physical Education Baseball Basketball Football Hockey Soccer Swimming |
Tennis Track Volleyball Aldrich-Dexter Field Colgate Hoyt Pool Smith Swimming Center Olympic Games |
|
Books
The following secondary source materials contain information about Brown University athletics. Clicking on the links will take you to the catalog record for each item. Many of the secondary sources listed below are the products of research using Brown University Archives collections. As you read these secondary sources, take careful note of their footnotes; they will point you to University Archives collections that may be helpful to your own research.
|
Contact Special Collections via the Question Form to help you get started using our collections and staff expertise.
Sports Teams Collections:
|
Basketball records (OF-1OG-B2) Crew records (OF-1OG-C1) Field hockey records (OF-1OG-F2) Golf records (OF-1OG-G1) |
Soccer records (OF-1OG-S1) Softball records (OF-1OG-S3) Squash records (OF-1OG-S4) Skiing records (OF-1OF-S5) |
Brown Sports, OF-1O
The Brown Bear Magazine, OF-1O
Brown Alumni Magazine, 1900-present (alumni magazine) (library catalog record)
Brown Daily Herald, 1891-present (student newspaper) (library catalog record)
Pembroke Record, 1922-1970 (Pembroke student newspaper)
University Archives
Online (1923-1970):http://dl.lib.brown.edu/pebr/
Liber Brunensis, 1870-present (yearbook)
John Hay Library Reading Room
Brun Mael, 1909-1970 (Pembroke/Women’s College yearbook)
John Hay Library Reading Room
Contact Special Collections via the Question Form to help you get started using our collections and staff expertise.
TOPIC FILES AND PUBLICATION (CLASSIFIED) FILES
This collection includes files containing newspaper clippings, circulars, notices, pamphlets, brochures, and other miscellaneous materials documenting a wide variety of topics on Brown's history. The topic files are an excellent starting point for any researcher beginning a research project on an aspect of Brown's history.
MUSEUM OBJECTS
This collection includes artifacts, ephemera, and memorabilia documenting numerous aspects of University history, including presidents, students, alumni, athletics, fraternities, sororities, academics, commencements, and reunions. Includes class rings, class pins, sorority and fraternity pins, badges, lockets of hair, uniforms, dresses, clothing, medals, pennants, flags, plaques, trophies, furniture, liquor flasks, perfume flasks, canes, and scientific instruments.
BIOGRAPHICAL FILES
This collection consists of files of biographical information about alumni, faculty, administrators, and officers of the University. Alumni questionnaires, obituaries, and newspaper clippings are the common items found in these files.
PHOTOGRAPHS AND PRINTS
There are over 60,000 photographs depicting campus scenes, buildings, groups, events, student activities, athletic teams and events, and individual faculty members, students, and alumni preserved and accessible in the University Archives.
Other photographs may be found in enormous leather-bound class albums owned by graduates from 1857 to 1904. There are about 100 of these albums containing photographs of seniors, buildings, and student groups. The Robinson Collection of athletics depicts 125 years of Brown athletics. The earliest photograph is a daguerreotype taken of the class of 1847 as seniors. There are also drawings, etchings, and cartoons, and several hundred glass slides of campus scenes around the turn of the century.
Images of Brown (digitized images)
The Images of Brown digital collection presents digital facsimiles of original documentary images in the Brown University Archives. The original images are organized into four broad topical series, described as follows:
Subject (buildings, events, student activities, etc.)
Sports – Teams (contact archives@brown.edu for additional information)
The original photographs in the Photograph Collection are available for consultation by researchers in the Special Collections Reading Room at the John Hay Library. Please contact archives@brown.edu with questions or to have materials placed on reserve for you.
Brown University Library | Providence, RI 02912 | (401) 863-2165 | Contact | Comments | Library Feedback | Site Map
