Formed in 1968, the American Indian Movement (AIM) expanded from its roots in Minnesota and broadened its political agenda to include a searching analysis of the nature of social injustice in America. These FBI files provide detailed information on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism.
This database contains two parts: (1) Zhengtong Daozang 正統道藏 (Daoist Canon of the Ming Zhengtong era) (1513 titles) and (2) Daozang Jiyao 道藏輯要 (Digest of Daoist Canon) (299 titles). The searchable functions include full-text and image interfaces, printing and downloading. For more detail on how to search it, see the instruction guide.
This collection identifies the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of the Subcontinent between 1945 and 1949, and places them in the context of the complex and dynamic regional strategic, political, and economic processes that have fashioned India in the postwar period.
Over 16,000 pages of State Department Central Files on India and Pakistan from 1963 through 1966 make this collection a standard documentary resource for the study of the political relations between India and Pakistan during a crucial period in the Cold War and the shifting alliances and alignments in South Asia.
This collection is an addition to the new-flourishing literature on the military history of South Asia and the growing field of serious study of the British military experience in India.
This collection covers U.S. perspectives on Lebanon, Palestine, Syria, and Trans-Jordan, from Ottoman rule to the era of British and French mandates following the First World War.
A companion archive to India from Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949, this collection traces the end of British India and the emergence of modern Pakistan.
Global, daily, high-resolution satellite imagery. Accounts must be requested and are limited to certain users; click the resource link for more details and to request an account.
Planet Labs provides daily global satellite imagery in 3m and 5m resolution for 4 to 8 bands. Users can view and download daily scenes or mosaiced images. Access is available through a web browser, API, or plugins for GIS software. We have a limited number of user accounts, which are only available to Brown: faculty, research staff, graduate students, undergrad thesis writers, and undergrad RAs, for academic research purposes. Click the resource link for more details and to request an account.
The Anglo-American Committee of Inquiry (AACI), formed in 1945, was created to study the situation of Jewish survivors in Europe and the problems connected with their resettlement in Palestine.
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online (REP Online) is one of the largest and most comprehensive resources available for all those involved in the study of philosophy. It is also an ideal reference source for those in subjects related to philosophy, such as politics, psychology, economics, anthropology, religion and literature.
From 1789 until the Bureau of Indian Affairs was established in 1824, Indian affairs were under the direct control of the Secretary of War. This collection consists of the letters received by and letters sent to the War Department.
