Rhode Island College miscellaneous papers, 1763-1804, MS-1E-1. See finding aid for digital surrogates.
Manuscripts not in collections, MS-1ZX (University Archives)
Avery, William Bailey
Alden, Charles Henry
Bishop, Phanuel Euclid
Edgell, John Davis
Monroe, John Albert
Peck, George B.
Brown University student diaries, 1820- (bulk 1820-1921), MS-1R-1 (University Archives)
Brown University student correspondence, 1769-1940 (bulk 1789-1869), MS-1R-2 (University Archives)
William Mason Turner papers, 1855-1877, Ms. 77.1 (Manuscripts) A native Virginian, William Mason Turner attended Brown University, from which he received a Ph.B. degree in 1855. Following Brown, Turner enrolled in medical school at the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia for a three year course of study. After completing his studies in medicine, Turner made a tour of Europe and the Middle East with a group of fellow doctors. With the outbreak of the Civil War in 1861, Turner joined the Confederate Army as a surgeon. In September that year, he was on the staff of the General Hospital at C.S. Fort Nelson in Norfolk, Virginia. He was eventually captured and spent the last months of the war in a prisoner of war camp.
Books At Brown. Providence, R.I.: Friends of the Library, Brown University. 20 (1965). Two articles by historian Robert George on Brown during the Civil War. Includes an article on Brown University men who were in the Confederate army. ONLINE ACCESS
Correspondence of Alfred Gurney, Miscellaneous Manuscripts, MS-1ZX. Several letters while Gurney served in the U.S. Army.
Herbert Eugene Walter papers, 1885-1948 and n.d, MS-1UF-W1. Letters received by Walter from World War I servicemen.
Publications and Scrapbooks
Brown Alumni Monthly, July 1918.
Topic Files: Brown University-History-World War I, 1-E.
Brown in the Great War. Project by Public Humanities graduate student utilizing the resources of the University Archives and Special Collections.
Veterans College papers, 1942-1949, OF-1ZV-1. The Veterans College began as the Veterans Extension Division in the fall of 1947, when the G.I. Bill encouraged many World War II veterans to seek a college education. Fourteen hundred applications were received and 486 were accepted. In November the name was changed to Veterans College in recognition of their work, and at the end of the term 139 students of the Veterans College were transferred to the regular College and three women students to Pembroke College. The records include correspondence and reports.
Henry Merrit Wriston papers, 1914-1977, OF-1C-11. President Wriston's papers contain information about the Veterans College.
Samuel T. Arnold papers, 1936-1957, OF-1CA-A2. Samuel Arnold was Dean of the College and Dean of the University. His papers contain information about the Veterans College.
Manhattan District Project Records, OF-1ZCH-1. Three boxes of files received from the Department of Energy, Oak Ridge, Tennessee, relating to Brown University Contract with the Manhattan District Project (Manhattan Project), obtained under the Freedom of Information Act, and presented to the Brown University Archives.
English themes by World War II veterans, 1946, MS-1N-E1. A collection of over one-hundred essays written by Brown University students who were veterans of World War II, for an English class in 1947.
Thomas J. Watson, Jr. papers, 1905-1994 (bulk 1940-1981), MS-1U-W1. The Diaries series consists of descriptions of Watson's civilian travels and his experiences during World War II. In 1930 he traveled in Europe and in 1937 he traveled in Europe, Japan, Korea, and China, including Manchuria. The military diaries include detailed descriptions of the Soviet Union and the Pacific islands as well as Watson's personal experiences.
Miscellaneous Manuscripts, MS-1ZX. Letters written by Brown University students and alumni who were in the war:
Dealey, James Quayle
Hunt, E. Howard
Lyn Crost papers, 1937-1996, Ms. 2005.46 (Manuscripts). Papers relating primarily to Crost's experiences as a war correspondent covering the 100th Infantry Battalion and 442nd Regimental Combat Team in Europe during World War II, and materials she used in writing Honor by Fire. Pembroke College, Class of 1938.
Topic Files: Brown University-History-World War II, 1-E.