Skip to main content

Expanded Access to Digital Content

As a response to the global COVID-19 pandemic, many of the Library’s content providers have expanded our access to digital content in order to support remote research, learning, and teaching.

Resources from our content providers

In addition to the 2.5+ million digital books, journals, and databases available through the Library’s subscriptions, we are excited to share many additional resources from our content partners offered in response the global COVID-19 pandemic.

Journals

  • Journal of Visualized Experiments - all sections available!
    • Science Education Collection
      • Educators and students use our innovative video collections in the JoVE Science Education Library to better teach and learn key concepts and fundamental techniques at the undergraduate course level. These simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations cover a wide range of STEM subjects including Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Psychology, Clinical Medicine and Engineering.
    • JoVE Video Journal
      • Articles consist of high-quality video demonstrations and detailed text protocols which facilitate scientific reproducibility and productivity. The scope of the journal includes novel techniques, innovative applications of existing techniques, and gold standard protocols in the physical and life sciences. 
  • JSTOR Public Health Journal Archive
    • JSTOR and participating publishers have made 26 newly released Public Health journals available for free access. Topics addressed include Epidemiology, Health Policy and Administration, Occupational and Environmental Health, Health Equity and the Culture of Health, Aging, Bioethics, and Health Promotion.
  • ScienceDirect eJournal Collection
    • Explore scientific, technical, and medical research on ScienceDirect. Journals cover topics in Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities.

Ebooks

  • DPLA Open Bookshelf
    • DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. DPLA has launched a brand new web catalog that allows anyone to browse and directly download any of the more than 6,300 ebook titles available on DPLA’s Open Bookshelf. Read classic novels, children’s books, textbooks and non-English titles, all for free.
  • Internet Archive
    • The Internet Archive offers over 20,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts. There is also a collection of 1.8 million modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account.

Databases

  • British History Online (BHO
    • British History Online (BHO) is a digital collection of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a special focus on the period 1300 to 1800.
  • OurEnergyLibrary
    • OurEnergyLibrary aggregates and indexes publicly available fact sheets, journal articles, reports, studies, and other publications on U.S. energy topics. It is updated every week to include the most recent energy resources from academia, government, industry, non-profits, think tanks, and trade associations.
  • Paris Musées Collections
    • Paris Musées, a collective of 14 museums in Paris, France, have made high-quality digital copies of 100,000+ artworks freely available to the public. Artists include Rembrandt, Monet, Picasso, Cézanne, and thousands of others.
  • Renaissance Society of America
    • The Renaissance Society of America has compiled a list of free resources available in Renaissance Studies, including bibliographies, catalogs, exhibitions, teaching guides, portals, and databases.
  • Rhode Island COVID-19 Archive
    • Rhode Island Historical Society and Providence Public Library have partnered to create a collaborative public archive in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. The Rhode Island COVID-19 Archive project encourages all Rhode Islanders to document their experience during this historic moment and to contribute those items to this public archive.