Access to the bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations from the Modern Language Association, 1926-present.
1926-present; the MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. The electronic version of the bibliography contains over 1.5 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers.
Provides full-text access to nearly 4,700 journals, including 3,600 peer-reviewed journals
Current; multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community. Includes full text coverage for just under 4,700 journals, including 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.
If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html.
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or eresources@brown.edu.
Provides access to biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of influential literary figures from all eras and genres, current
Current; Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series.
Provides access to Gale's premier literary databases
An integrated research experience, Gale Literature brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways.
Current; this resource is from the well-known Contemporary Literary Criticism and offers a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.
Bibliographic information on historical writing covering the British Isles, British Empire, and Commonwealth, 55 BC-present
55 BC-present; the Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth. It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009.
Electronic access to all 350 volumes in 10 subject areas, 1960-present
1960-present; Cambridge Histories Online allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. Subject areas include: American history, regional history, British history, general history, economic history, religious studies, literary studies, political and social theory, language and linguistics, music, theatre studies and performing arts, history of the book, philosophy, history of science, and warfare.
An open access, interactive, scholarly journal, launched in 2011 by the Aphra Behn Society. The journal focuses on gender and women’s issues, and all aspects of women in the arts in the long eighteenth century, especially literature, visual arts, music, performance art, film criticism, and production arts.
A fully annotated electronic edition of Elizabeth Robinson Montagu’s correspondence. The author and bluestocking salonnière (1718-1800) was the leading woman of letters and artistic patron of her day.
A research project about the impact made by women writers and their works in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. The focus includes writers who were read in Ireland and Britain as well as women born and resident in Anglophone countries.
The bibliography is a database of secondary sources on women's writing and labor. Primarily our sources are in English, and non-English sources have a rough translation included. The database is not meant to be an exhaustive list of all book history sources that refer to women or discuss women, but instead a thorough snapshot of studies that take women as their primary subjects.
The Women’s Print History Project is a comprehensive bibliographical database of women’s contributions to print for the long eighteenth century, one of the most convulsive periods in both women’s and print history. We collect detailed information about books that women were involved in producing, not just as authors, but also as printers, publishers, booksellers, editors, compilers, translators, engravers, illustrators, and composers.
