LibGuides: Resources in Art and Architecture on the Web: Asian Architecture

Asian Architecture

American Geographical Society Library Digital Photo Archive: Asia and Middle East
Collection includes over 28,000 images and is still under development. From University of Wisconsin -- Milwaukee Libraries.
Asian Historical Architecture
Collection of digital photographs from many different contributors. Images may be used for free for educational purposes (with credit). For publication, rights may be negotiated with the individual photographer. Also a good site for information about the structures.
Bagan Experience
Google Arts & Culture site that allows the viewer to enter several of the buildings. Includes narration.
Depicting the Sri Lankan Vernacular
This collection of original photographs and drawings is drawn from ethnographic research on architecture and traditional domestic life in Sri Lanka, conducted in various periods between 1965 and 2012, by Bonnie and Robert MacDougall. From Cornell Library.
Great Kanto Earthquake of 1923
Photographs taken of the disaster by William Dana Reynolds. From Brown Digital Repository.
Indian Archaeology Review
Fully digitized issues covering 1953 to 2001.
JAANUS
"The on-line Dictionary of Japanese Architectural and
Art Historical Terminology compiled by Dr. Mary Neighbour Parent."
Knoop Far East Photographic Collection
Approximately 1,600 photographic images assembled by Douglas Knoop on a world tour 1913 - 1914. From University of Sheffield via JSTOR.
Rob Linrothe Image Collection
Northwestern University Professor's photographs of Tibetan, Chinese and Indian monuments.
Sources on South Asian Art and Architecture
Old website created by Frances W. Pritchett, Professor Emerita of Columbia University.
Tibet from the American Geographical Society Library.
Over 1,000 historical maps and photographs of Tibet. From the University of Wisconsin -- Milwaukee Libraries.
Travels Across India: In the Footsteps of the Raj
19th century albumen photographs from the National Gallery of Art.
Trinity College Palace Buildings of Peking 1906
172 photographs of the Imperial Palace in Peking, taken by Kazumasa Ogawa and published as callotype prints 1906 in a 2-volume set titled Photographs of Palace Buildings of Peking. Available through JSTOR.
University of Wisconsin-Madison Images of Angkor Wat
"Collection of 120 photos was taken by Miss Margaret Parx Hays during her Christmas vacation to Siem Reap in 1954."
University of Wisconsin-Madison Nimogram : Pakistani Archaeological Site Images
"The photographs in this collection are of an early Buddhist site, Nimogram, in the Swat District of Pakistan."
Virtual Museum of Images and Sound: ACSAA Images (Monuments)
Architectural images from the American Council for Southern Asian Art (ASCAA) Digital Images. Also an Artstor collection.

Mrauk U Andaw Thein, Myanmar.1515-1521 and following. Photo by dany13 via Creative Commons license 2.0.