"The history and cultures of the Native people in Maine, the Wabanaki, are showcased through changing exhibitions, special events, teacher workshops, archaeology field schools, and workshops for children and adults."
Frick Art Reference Library’s research guide to artists, collectors, and dealers of underrepresented identities in their collections, including those who are Black, Indigenous, Asian, and Hispanic and Latinx.
"The idea behind this virtual library is to create an electronic repository of early Nahuatl-language resources (ca.1540-1825), combining those found in Mesoamerica with those the United States and Europe, digitizing them all and making them more accessible and comprehensible to Nahuatl scholars everywhere."
Images depict the people, places, and practices of Native Americans and their communities from at least 34 States, plus Canada and Mexico in the period from 1909-1953. From Columbia University Libraries.
"Glenbow’s art collection is focused on artists from Calgary, Alberta and the rest of Canada (about two thirds of the collection) with the remaining third of the collection by international artists)." Includes one of the largest indigenous collections in Canada.
"The Institute of American Indian Arts offers academic excellence to both Native and non-Native populations. Our goal is empowerment through education, economic self-sufficiency, and expression and enhancement of artistic and cultural traditions." Located in Santa Fe, New Mexico.
Items relating to the field work of the pioneering female anthropologist and archaeologist. From Southern Methodist University Libraries Digital Collections. Materials come from research trips in the United States to study the Coast Miwok and Southern Paiute tribes, and trips to Mexico, Bolivia, Puerto Rico, El Salvador, and Pakistan.
"A non-profit educational institution that seeks to further knowledge and understanding of the richness and diversity of the indigenous cultures and societies of the United States and Canada." Located in Mashantucket, Connecticut.
"The N.A.T.I.V.E. Project (Navajo Artists Technology Innovation & Vision Enterprise) provides both financial and technical assistance to Navajo and other Native American artists in the Four Corners region who are engaged in the business of arts, crafts and culture." Located in Farmington, New Mexico.
The Atlas provides a synoptic view (although certainly incomplete) of Inuit mobility and occupancy of Arctic waters, coasts and lands, including its icescapes, as documented in written historical records (maps of trails and place names).
"The Antiquities of Wisconsin, Increase A. Lapham's most important published work, was the result of his interest in the Indian effigy mounds found on Wisconsin's Landscape...ncludes 92 pages of text, illustrated with 61 wood engravings, and 55 lithographed plates."
"The UW-Madison Department of Anthropology curates ethnographic objects, archaeological artifacts, biological anthropology specimens, and related archives such as photographs, slides, paper documents, maps, and film...The ethnographic research collection contains objects from six of seven continents. Although geographically widespread, the collection includes a sizeable group of objects originating from Brazil."
"Fieldwork undertaken in 1994-1995 resulted in the ethnographic documentation of 16 Woodland Indian traditional artists in Wisconsin, Michigan, Minnesota, and Iowa, and acquisition of c. 50 pieces of the artists' work."