LibGuides: Resources in Art and Architecture on the Web: Colonialism &amp; Imperialism

Colonialism & Imperialism

British Empire: Art and Empire
Older site with articles about British colonization and art.
Colonial North America at Harvard Library
Digitized materials relating to all aspects of colonial life.
Humphrey Winterton Collection of East African Photographs: 1860-1960
Documents African life; European life in Africa in all its manifestations; and the African landscape, in particular as it changed over time. From Northwestern University Libraries Digital Collections.
Imperial Eye: Picturesque Photography and Printed Media in the British Empire
Features photography and published media used by the British to document mainly Indian sites and people. From Wofford College via JSTOR.
International Mission Photography Archive
Historical photographs from Protestant and Catholic mission collections in Europe and North America. Maintained by University of Southern California Library.
Leiden University Libraries: Dutch Colonial Maps
A large collection of c. 11,000 map sheets and c. 250 atlases of the Dutch colonies.
Leiden University Libraries: Southeast Asian & Caribbean Images
"Around 1890 the KITLV started collecting photographs for the purpose of documenting the image of the Dutch East and West Indies in all their facets, such as landscapes, town views, architecture, and life under indigenous and Dutch rule and so forth."
Paintings of Company School
School of painting that emerged under the patronage of the British East India Company. Exhibition from the National Gallery of Modern Art in India.
Perry in Japan: A Visual History
A digital collection prepared by Susan Smulyan and her students to interpret a Japanese scroll found in the Library's collections that documents the visit of Commodore Matthew Perry to Japan in 1854.
Smith College: Rotman Stereograph Collection
Originally published by Underwood and Underwood as a set titled: "India Through the Stereoscope," in 1900. Available through JSTOR.
Werner von Boltenstern Shanghai Photograph and Negative Collection
Historical photos of Shanghai from Loyola Marymount University via JSTOR.