A collection of 77 vintage photographs, primarily from the early 20th century formerly owned by Blondie Robinson, an accomplished African-American vaudeville performer of that era. Brown Digital Repository.
"Robert Melvin 'Bob' Adelman (October 30, 1930 – March 19, 2016) was an American photographer known for his images of the African-American Civil Rights Movement." Note: Images are watermarked and must be purchased for use beyond personal research.
"A resource for students of American Theater, devotees of performing arts photography, historians of American visual culture, curators of image collections, and collectors of dramatic, operatic, balletic, and vaudevillian memorabilia."
A collection of images of Pacific and Asian locations from Burns Philp and Company, a major shipping line that acted as merchants and agents in the Pacific Islands. From Australian National University via JSTOR.
Digital collection of images relating to California, including architecture, art, historical photographs, etc. from California institutions. May be used freely for educational purposes, obtain permission for publication and other uses.
"Changing Chicago was conceived as one of the largest documentary photography projects ever organized in an American city." Now housed in the Museum of Contemporary Photography at Columbia College, Chicago.
This collection contains photographs of rural and urban landscapes, portraits, and railroad scenes from the 1870s to the 1920s. The bulk of the collection features communities in Washington state and the western United States. From Central Washington University Libraries via JSTOR.
Images depict the people, places, and practices of Native Americans and their communities from at least 34 States, plus Canada and Mexico in the period from 1909-1953. From Columbia University Libraries.
"100 black-and-white photos shot by Gary Monroe from 1980 to 1998 in Haiti, in Haitian neighborhoods in Florida, and in Krome Camp, Florida, where Haitian refugees are detained by the U.S. government." From Duke University Libraries.
"Notable works from students and faculty at the Institute of Design at the Illinois Institute of Technology. Now in the collection of the Museum of Contemporary Photography at Columbia College, Chicago.
"The Lensmen Collection, licensed to Irish Photo Archive, is a unique collection of almost 3.5 million old Irish photos and historical images and offers a fascinating insight into Irish life over the last six decades." Irish historical images and documents available for licensing.
The collection mainly contains black-and-white prints and negatives relating to the Flying A Studios (aka American Film Manufacturing Company), a film company that operated in Santa Barbara (1912-1920). From University of California, Santa Barbara via JSTOR.
Color and black and white photographs taken by John S. Kiewit from about 1968 to 2000. The images reflect what Kiewit saw on his travels throughout California and the West, as well as trips to other parts of the U.S. and the world. From University of California, Santa Barbara via JSTOR.
Archive of images from the premiere American popular magazine of the 20th century. Millions of historic photographs from the magazine, most never published. Freely available although site states that images may be subject to copyright. Proceed with caution.
"This digital collection draws from the work of studio photographer Roman Kwasniewski to illustrate the history of Milwaukee Polonia from the early 1900s through the 1940s." From University of Wisconsin -- Milwaukee Libraries.
Slides developed during World War II as a training tool, for top-side battle-station personnel on board ship and for all aircraft personnel, by the US Navy. From Grand Valley State University via JSTOR.
"The NYC Municipal Archives Digital Collections website provides access to more than 1,600,000 items from the Municipal Archives' vast holdings, including photographs, maps, blueprints, motion-pictures and audio recordings." Prints may be purchased. Permission must be obtained and licensing fees paid for publication.
"The Photography Collection was created in 1980, when images culled from other NYPL departments and branches were brought together to form a new division that now comprises approximately 500,000 photographs by 6,000 photographers."
"The Obsidian Collection is a user-friendly, virtual portal for Black culture providing access to images of historical, artistic and cultural significance gathered from Black newspapers, photographers, archives and community groups from around the country. These images are available for licensing and permissions to tell our stories." Note: images are watermarked.
The collection consists of 573 items, mostly black-and-white photographs--and a few drawings and engravings--of 111 actors, actresses, and other performing artists posed by professional photographers working predominantly in New York, London, and Paris. From UPenn via JSTOR.
"The photographs of Sergei Mikhailovich Prokudin-Gorskii (1863–1944) offer a vivid portrait of a lost world—the Russian Empire on the eve of World War I and the coming revolution." Exhibition from the Library of Congress.
Dr. Iraphne Childs’ Geographical Image Collection is the result of photographs taken primarily in the 1970s – 1990s in Australia, New Zealand, Japan, Hawaii and the Western USA. Available through JSTOR.
"The Rescued Film Project is an online archive gallery of images that were captured on film between the 1930's and late 1990's. Each image in our archive was recovered from found film from locations all over the world, and came to us in the form of undeveloped rolls of film."
RISD Fleet Library Picture Collection Italian Architecture prints, the majority of photographs captured by Fratelli Alinari, the world's oldest photographic firm, founded in Florence, Italy in 1852. Available through JSTOR.
Fascinating blog about historical photographs with fantastic, high resolution images. Selected smaller size images may be downloaded for non-commercial use. Large size tiffs may be purchased for commercial use.
This collection features photographs of upper Kittitas County collected by local social studies teacher Frederick Krueger during the early- to mid-20th century. From Central Washington University Libraries via JSTOR.
This Photographic collection consists of images depicting life in Thorp and central Kittitas County, Washington, from the late 19th century to the middle 20th century. From Central Washington University Libraries via JSTOR.
172 photographs of the Imperial Palace in Peking, taken by Kazumasa Ogawa and published as callotype prints 1906 in a 2-volume set titled Photographs of Palace Buildings of Peking. Available through JSTOR.
"The UW-La Crosse Historic Steamboat Photograph collection consists of over 40,000 photographic images of steamboats on the inland waterways of the United States, primarily the Mississippi, Ohio and Missouri rivers and their tributaries."
" 732 images taken by Frederic (Fritz) Benson during his time in Laos between August 1968 and January 1974...The images of the people of Laos...include views of the Lao, Hmong, Khmu, Akha, Iu Mien (Yao), Kalom, Tai Phuan, Mlabri, and Lahu."
In 1959, Lawrence G. "Larry" Monthey joined a tour of the Soviet Union and other European countries. "The images presented here document various destinations and educational events in Leningrad, Moscow, Kiev and Kharkov."
Includes "categories of primary and secondary resources: research and teaching materials collected by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff; and unique or valuable items related to these fields held by the University of Wisconsin Libraries."
"This charming glimpse into Two Rivers' past is a unique blend of photographs selected from the collection of Hubert R. Wentorf (circa late 1800s to mid 1950s), and vintage product catalogs from the Fisher-Hamilton Company."
"Presents primarily photographs of musicians and music-related subjects held by Mills Music Library, dating from the late nineteenth century to the present. In addition to photographs, there are postcards, lithographic prints, advertising and promotional materials, posters, and other types of ephemera."
"The materials selected for this digital project depict many elements of Waukesha County history, primarily documenting the industries, people, and structures important to the development of Waukesha County."
This Collection holds a set of almost 300 stereo views, illustrating World War I in all its facets including battlefields, soldiers, and activities on the home front. From Xavier University of Louisiana via JSTOR.