John Jacob Omenhausser, was a Confederate soldier imprisoned at the Union camp at Pt. Lookout, Maryland from June 1864 to July 1865. Here in this sketchbook, he documents prison life in vibrant watercolor drawings. Available through JSTOR.
Plates from Klinger, Julius. Das Weib im modernen Ornament [Woman in Modern Ornament]: ein Vorlagenwerk fur alle Gebriete des Kunstgewerbes Teil I. Berlin: Albert Brinitzer, Verlag fur Freie und Angewandte Kunst, . From Minneapolis College of Art and Design via JSTOR.
Contains materials dating between 1910 and 1932, and consists of published advertising and marketing brochures, maps, guides and general information about automobiles. From Northwestern University Libraries Digital Collections.
This collection contains lavishly illustrated early U.S. bicycle and bicycle parts manufacturers’ catalogs covering the period from 1890 through 1932, with the great majority published between 1890 and 1902. From Northwestern University Libraries Digital Collections.
Collection of Napoleonic satirical prints produced between 1792 and 1829 from Germany, Britain, France, Holland, Russia, by such noted artists as James Gillray and George Cruikshank. Most have also been archived in Luna Insight.
Tthis collection contains fine examples of printed and hand-colored taufscheins (birth and baptismal certificates), vorshrifts (writing examples), haus segens (house blessings), bucherzeichen (book plates), and drawings created by Pennsylvania Germans. From Franklin & Marshall College via JSTOR.
"An online edition of The Print Council Index to Oeuvre-Catalogues of Prints by European and American Artists by Timothy A. Riggs...The database now contains entries for European and American prints, print publishers, drawings, and photographs; and Japanese prints and photographs."
"The print collection documents the work of New England printmakers and contains a wide array of printmaking techniques, including engravings, etchings, aquatints, lithographs, wood cuts, and silk-screens."
"These works were generally, though not always, produced by corporations and other business entities for the purposes of advertising a product, managing a company's public image, or providing consumer education." From Hagley Museum & Library.
Compiled by Rhode Island watercolor artist, Abigail Whipple Cooke. The prints were collected from various turn-of-the century magazines such as Harper's, Collier's, Scribner's and McClure's, and compiled in a scrapbook. Available through JSTOR.
RISD Library Picture Collection vintage advertisement clippings from Ladies Home Journal, Life Magazine and more, 1930-1950's. Predominately vintage cereal and Coca-Cola advertisements. Available through JSTOR.
"A broad sampling of cover images from popular literature, including dime novels, pulp magazines, books in series for juveniles, fashion and homemaking magazines, comics, science fiction and adventure stories"
"The Antiquities of Wisconsin, Increase A. Lapham's most important published work, was the result of his interest in the Indian effigy mounds found on Wisconsin's Landscape...ncludes 92 pages of text, illustrated with 61 wood engravings, and 55 lithographed plates."
"Fifteen titles of Edo-period (1600-1868) Japanese woodblock-printed books are included in this online collection. The books are predominantly pictorial, with illustrations designed by artists such as Nishikawa Sukenobu, Katsushika Hokusai, Kono Bairei and Ando Hiroshige."
British prints: "spans the years 1508 to 1939, with some ephemera of the 1940s and 1950s and a separate collection of post-1960 additions. The collection is strongest in 19th and early 20th century ephemera, with significant holdings in the 18th century."
Mostly British ephemera. "The collection is retrospective and spans the years 1508 to 1939, with some ephemera of the 1940s and 1950s and a separate collection of post-1960 additions. The collection is strongest in 19th and early 20th century ephemera, with significant holdings in the 18th century."
"Digitized from the classic works of the German veterinary anatomists, Wilhelm Ellenberger and Hermann Baum, and medical illustrator, Hermann Dittrich." Published in 1898 and 1911 through 1925, all entitled Handbuch der Anatomie der Tiere für Künstler. Public domain images from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.
"American born Jewish cartoonist, painter, lithographer, and muralist. The collection includes book covers, magazine and newspaper illustrations, cartoons, manuscript materials, and images of printed and original art." From Syracuse University Libraries.