Resources in Art and Architecture on the Web

From Nashville Public Library.

"A digital archive of graphic design related items that are available on the Internet Archives."

First African-American executive at Sears, Roebuck & Co., Harrison was involved in the design of over 750 consumer projects. From University of Illinois, Chicago.

Bibliography put together by design historians to assist other instructors in decentering whiteness in their classes.

Tumblr created by a design history instructor in Germany, showcasing good design through the centuries.

A Virtual Encyclopedia of All Things Eames.

Information about contemporary furniture design and sustainable manufacturing.

Blog post about design collections at the NMAAHC written by a curator.

The 656 photographs in this collection document the New York Edison Company’s fleet of service and commercial vehicles, as well as vehicles owned by subsidiary Yonkers Electric Light and Power Company, in the late 1920s. From Northwestern University Libraries Digital Collections.

Catalog to NYSID's Archives and Special Collections containing finding aids (not full access).

"The website seeks to provide a space for the appreciation, study, interpretation, and research on Philadelphia furniture."

Images from the Art Center College of Design via JSTOR.

Selections from Hagley Museum & Library Collections.

Online exhibition of furniture designs by contemporary Black designers.

Material relating to plastics manufacturing company. From Syracuse University Libraries.

"A vibrant spectrum of historical plastic objects such as personal items like combs and jewelry, home and kitchenware, medical devices and parts, automotive components, material samples, military gear and equipment, and more."

217 photographic prints of automotive and maritime transportation spanning from early to mid-20th century.

Old website with searchable interface.

"The UW-La Crosse Historic Steamboat Photograph collection consists of over 40,000 photographic images of steamboats on the inland waterways of the United States, primarily the Mississippi, Ohio and Missouri rivers and their tributaries."

"This charming glimpse into Two Rivers' past is a unique blend of photographs selected from the collection of Hubert R. Wentorf (circa late 1800s to mid 1950s), and vintage product catalogs from the Fisher-Hamilton Company."

Mainly British. Archives "comprise eighteen collections that enhance understanding of the designed environment, the design profession and design practice."

Mainly British. "A collection of slides illustrating various aspects of design."

"This collection provides a digitised record of Design Journal for the years 1965 to 1974."

"The archive contains photographic and print material relating to furniture companies in the High Wycombe region, primarily from Ercol Limited and E. Gomme Limited (G-Plan)."

"The collection consists of 9000 items complemented by the loan of the Plastics Historical Society Collection. Together the collections present an in depth history of the use of synthetic plastics since their invention in the middle of the 19th century to the present day."

"The collections engage with design histories including the furnishing of 'ordinary' homes of the early and mid-twentieth century, the design process of commercial wallpaper and textiles for the home and inter-war suburbia."

"A unique and outstanding educational resource spanning over 300 years of British furniture making and design, from 1660 to the present day."

"Formed from the archives and historic book collection of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE). The images cover topics from railways to manufacturing, spanning the late 1800's to the late 1900's."