LibGuides: ENGN 0930L/1930L: Biomedical Engineering Design and Innovation: Medical Textbooks & Reference Sources

Medical Textbooks & Reference Sources

These resources provide overviews and summaries of health conditions and treatments, and should be broadly applicable to all sections of this assignment.

Textbooks

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of core basic and clinical medical texts, plus clerkship study guides, Case Files, a differential diagnosis tool (Diagnosaurus), procedural videos, an image gallery, and other multimedia content.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current; provides access to the DSM, psychiatric resources including journals, textbooks, self-assessment tools for study, board certification, and clinical and research news.

Point of Care Summaries

Point of care summaries are regularly updated to incorporate the latest evidence on clinical topics. They are designed for clinicians but can be helpful as an overview.

DynaMed contains summary pages with the following general structure: Overview and recommendations, general information, epidemiology, etiology and pathogenesis, history and physical, diagnosis, management, complications and prognosis, prevention and screening, patient information, and ICD codes.

ClinicalKey is a platform which contains searchable book chapters, journal articles, multimedia, and clinical overviews.

DynaMedex This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find point-of-care, evidence-based clinical topic summaries, current.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides >1000 medical and public health books and textbooks, in addition to clinical topic summaries, clinical calculators, procedures videos and other multimedia resources, and drug references.

Review Articles

Review articles summarize primary research and can be helpful for contextualizing a topic, as well as to begin to dig deeper by identifying additional studies. The databases below both offer the option to filter your search results by reviews only.

PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the freely available interface for MEDLINE, the largest biomedical literature database in the world. PubMed offers millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, full text from PubMed Central, and online books, from the 1800s-present. Use the Brown University link to access full text subscriptions through the University library.
Embase This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to biomedical research, with in-depth coverage of pharmacology, pharmaceutical science, and clinical research, 1947-present.