In addition to some of the titles below, Karen also has some ephemeral material in Rock A16 related to Providence architecture, including Providence Preservation Society tour guides. You may stop in to look at these Mon-Fri, 8:30-5:00.
"Residential development in the area of the original town of Providence, Rhode Island." Dissertation written in 1964. Also available for download in Proquest Dissertations.
Brown FACADES is an interactive guide to the architectural history of the Brown University Campus, in Providence, Rhode Island, USA. Developed by Professor Dietrich Neumann and his students.
Important print resource written by William Mackenzie Woodward and former Brown professor William Jordy. In addition to copies that can be checked out, you may consult a reference copy in Karen Bouchard's office, Rock A16, Mon-Fri 8:30-5:00.
Exhibition catalog from the David Winton Bell Gallery of show featuring Rhode Island architectural drawings. In addition to copies that can be checked out, you may consult a reference copy in Karen Bouchard's office, Rock A16, Mon-Fri 8:30-5:00.
Important work on Providence architecture by John Hutchins Cady, published in 1957. In addition to copies that can be checked out, you may consult a reference copy in Karen Bouchard's office, Rock A16, Mon-Fri 8:30-5:00.
Updated, online version of the guide originally published in 2003 by the Providence Preservation Society and the American Institute of Architects, Rhode Island Chapter. Written by William Mack Woodward.
Historical text published by the university in 1914. In addition to copies that can be checked out, you may consult a reference copy in Karen Bouchard's office, Rock A16, Mon-Fri 8:30-5:00.
Includes capsule descriptions of buildings of importance. In addition to copies that can be checked out, you may consult a reference copy in Karen Bouchard's office, Rock A16, Mon-Fri 8:30-5:00.
An open-access encyclopedia of histories, photographs, and maps for more than 20,000 structures (mostly buildings) and places.
SAH Archipedia is an authoritative online encyclopedia of the built world published by the Society of Architectural Historians and the University of Virginia Press, and contains histories, photographs, and maps for more than 14,000 structures and places. These are mostly buildings, but as you explore SAH Archipedia you will also find landscapes, infrastructure, monuments, artwork, and more. Currently, the content of SAH Archipedia is drawn from the award-winning book series, Buildings of the United States, and includes histories and thematic essays from fifteen of the published BUS volumes: Massachusetts (Metropolitan Boston), Rhode Island, Pennsylvania (Eastern and Western), the District of Columbia, Virginia (Tidewater and Piedmont), West Virginia, Michigan, Iowa, Colorado, Nevada, Alaska, Hawaii, Texas and Vermont. This cross-section of the country demonstrates the richness and diversity of architecture and building practice across many centuries, from mud brick to steel, from ancient cliff dwellings to contemporary office towers. The SAH Archipedia will continue to grow as new states are added.
Covers architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation, 1930s-present
1930-present; (with selected coverage back to late 19th century) the Avery Index treats architecture and related subjects, such as city planning, historic preservation, and interior design.
Searchable interface from the Rhode Island Historical Society with full text downloads from 1942 to two years ago. Also searchable through America: History and Life database.
Journal of the Rhode Island Historical Society, this is indexed in the America: History & Life database. The Brown Library has print copies of this journal.
1954-present; article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada. The Rhode Island Historical Society journal is indexed here and you may get better results by searching in this database.
1954-present; article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
This collection includes public records from the U.S. Census; military, court, land, and probate records; vital records; and more for genealogical and historical research.
With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more!
RI National Register Search from the website of the RI Historical Preservation & Heritage Commission. Includes basic information about buildings in historic districts.
The nation's first federal preservation program, administered by the National Parks Service. Great source for information and plans of historic buildings.
Digitized issues of the BDH now searchable in the Brown Digital Repository. Contains a majority of issues but not all are fully searchable. The John Hay Library Special Collections Reading Room contains bound volumes of all issues.
List of digitized historical newspapers from the state of Rhode Island, covering the 18th through 20th centuries. Enter "Rhode Island" in the search box to see the list of titles.
"Old Providence is a geo-referencing project with crowdsourcing capabilities to document the history of Providence, RI. It is for anyone interested in the history of Providence, a tool for preservationists, historians, and educators." It's contributed to by many local institutions.
This link opens in a new window
