Contains dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century
Dance in Video contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
Numeridanse is a free video database of dance curated by the Maison de la Danse, Lyon. Genres represented include: butoh, classical ballet, neo-classical ballet, baroque, Indian, African, flamenco, contemporary, traditional dances, hip-hop, tango, jazz, circus arts, and more.
A free video collection curated by the Jacob's Pillow Dance Festival. Dance clips from 1936 to the present day are available, including works by Anthony Tudor, George Balanchine, Ruth St. Denis, Bill T. Jones, and many others.
Note for users: some but not all of these videos are restricted to being viewed within the physical location of the NYPL. Please check the "Exclude location-restricted videos" box to see materials available to be viewed from outside of the New York Public Library.
Features a large on-demand library of recorded music, opera, and ballet performance videos, as well as broadcasts of live events from performance venues around the world.
Each year you can discover more than 100 events broadcast live from the most prestigious venues: Carnegie Hall, Walt Disney Concert Hall, Concertgebouw, Teatro alla Scala, Berliner Philharmonie, Salle Pleyel, Thtre des Champs-lyses, Verbier Festival, Salzburger Festspiele and more. You can also access the largest online collection of classical music videos in the world, with 1,500 original programmes available on demand and with unlimited access, plus hundreds of new films each year.
Provides access to full-length, high quality contemporary performance films to TV, desktop or mobile device, current.
Current; On the Boards theater is located in Seattle, WA. Founded by artists in 1978, they work to introduce audiences to artistic innovators who are defining the future of dance, theater and music whether on stage in Seattle or on the global screen. OntheBoards.tv is a website that delivers full-length, high quality contemporary performance films to your TV, desktop or mobile device.
Access high-definition video of British theatrical productions, along with production information, interviews with key contributors, and teaching materials, current.
Digital Theatre Plus features high-definition live video captures of British theatrical productions, along with production information, interviews with key creative players, and teaching materials. Digital Theatre works in partnership with leading theater companies, education organizations and arts collectives in the UK to make the best theater, English, and drama resources widely available.
Provides streaming audio, video, and critical commentary from performance practitioners past and-present, current.
Current; the Routledge Performance Archive provides access to audio-visual material from past and-present practitioners of performance across a range of fifty years. Materials included encompass interviews with important figures from theater and performance history, practitioner footage, masterclasses, contemporary productions, and documentaries. New material is added every three months.
Provides access to scholarly and popular material from all aspects of the performing arts, from scholarly studies to snapshots of popular culture, 1864-present.
1864-present; draws its content from scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, and also indexes a variety of documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events. Performing Arts covers nearly all aspects of the performing arts, from scholarly studies to snapshots of popular culture.
Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.
If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html.
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or email@example.com.
Provides access to journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses and scholarly societies in the humanities and social sciences
Project Muse is a searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. As of 6/2004, includes links to JSTOR.
Discover articles and images about the Modernist period
Biannual; the Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism contains over 1000 articles covering all aspects of the field, ranging from broad intellectual topics within modernism to specific works and practitioners. Geographical coverage is worldwide. The content is divided into eight subfields: literature, architecture, visual arts, music, dance, theatre, film, and intellectual currents.