EDUC 1665: Reimagining Humanities Education: Curriculum Development of Secondary Schools

A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History & Culture

List of free websites compiled by Karen Bouchard; includes many photography sites.

Publicly available archive of public television and radio programs.

Youtube channel for historical footage from the Associated Press.

Searchable collection from the University of South Carolina Libraries.

Online exhibitions, primary source sets for teaching, and other resources from collections across the U.S.

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

Searchable in its entirety or by specific collections. Public domain images may be freely downloaded, though resolution may be limited.

"The Obsidian Collection is a user-friendly, virtual portal for Black culture providing access to images of historical, artistic and cultural significance gathered from Black newspapers, photographers, archives and community groups from around the country. These images are available for licensing and permissions to tell our stories." Note: images are watermarked.

Google Arts & Culture site from the High Museum of Art.

Subject guides on various areas of research into African American history and culture.

Images may be used freely for non-commercial purposes. Includes works within the broad categories of Art & Design, History & Culture, and Science & Technology.

A freely available search hub for digital materials (still and moving images, sound, text) in African American history and culture. Searches materials from a wide variety of cultural institutions across the United States. (NOTE: the Brown University Library is a contributing partner to this project.)