LibGuides: ETHN 1200N: Introduction to Asian American History: University Archives + Special Collections

Brown Digital Repository (BDR)

BDR - Main Search
*Use this link to search all collections within the Brown Digital Repository
Brown Daily Herald
*Use this link to search the Brown Daily Herald archives for Asian American students, organizations, and news articles.
Pembroke Center Oral History Project
*Use filters on right to search relevant Identities (i.e., Asian Students) and Topics (i.e., AAPI Experience, Immigration)

Explore some of these student organizations in the BDR:

Chinese Student Association
Asian Student Association
Asian American Culture Week
Brown Taiwanese Society
Hong Kong Student Association
Japanese Cultural Association
Korean American Student Association

Rhode Island Archival and Manuscript Collections Online (RIAMCO)

RIAMCO Search
*Locate Finding Aids for collections at Rhode Island Libraries and Archives
*Filter by Institution or Subject

University Archives Highlights

Sarah Kay oral history: Sarah Kay's grandmother, June Suzuki Kawamura, attended Pembroke College, and in her oral history Sarah talks about her grandmother's experience in an internment camp (she was allowed to leave to attend Pembroke).

See also: Zachary Block, "Once Upon a Time in America: June Suzuki Kawamura ’46." Brown Alumni Magazine, March-April 2004.

Mary Jane Mikuriya oral history: mentions difficulties of growing up in Pennsylvania during World War II as a person with Japanese and German heritage.

Mary Jane's papers are in the Hay: Mary Jane Mikuriya Papers, 1952 - 2017. (catalog record) (finding aid)

Lyn Crost Papers: Lyn Crost was a Pembroke alumna who served as a war correspondent covering the 100th/442nd Regimental Combat Team, a Japanese American unit, in Europe during World War II.

Luke Tsai, "Providence's Black Chinese: A Love Story" (2001). Prospect: An Anthology of Creative Nonfiction. Brown Digital Repository. Brown University Library.