This collection contains the personal and professional papers of Ann duCille, Professor of English, Emerita at Wesleyan University and Inaugural Distinguished Professor in Residence for the Black Feminist Theory Project at the Pembroke Center, Brown University. DuCille is a scholar of African-American literature, cultural studies, and Black feminist theory. Materials include personal and professional correspondence, draft writings, dissertation proposals, awards and honors, and conference materials dating from 1975-2020.
This collection consists chiefly of study guides to Robert Hayden's poetry. There is some correspondence, photographs, printouts, photocopies of Hayden's poems, extracts from interviews with Hayden, newspaper clippings and a bibliography of both primary and secondary sources. The collection spans about seventy years including photocopies of Hayden's earliest poetry, "Heart-shape in the dust", from 1940 and e-mail to Murray in 2006. As the first African-American poet laureate, Hayden has an important place in the history of American poetry in the 20th century, but it was chiefly as a follower of the Bahaۥi religion that he attracted the attention of Caroline Murray while she was studying literature in community college courses. She developed a series of study guides so that she or other facilitators could lead discussions of the poetry in small Bahaۥi study groups.
This collection consists of the personal and professional papers of Cheryl A. Wall, Board of Governors Zora Neale Hurston Professor of English at Rutgers University and scholar of African American and African diaspora literature, the Harlem Renaissance, and Zora Neale Hurston. The collection includes correspondence, administrative materials related to her work at Rutgers University as well as Crossroads Theatre Company, conference materials, course syllabi and readings, draft writings, and research materials. Materials date from 1966 to 2020.
Sources for the Study of 19th and 20th Century Blackface Minstrelsy, including Songsters
Minstrel Plays or Skits, Sheet Music, Searching for Blackface Minstrelsy in BruKnow, Related Internet Resources, and
This collection contains the personal and professional papers of Hortense J. Spillers, American literary critic, Black feminist scholar, and the Gertrude Conaway Vanderbilt Chair in English at Vanderbilt University. The collection includes handwritten diaries, notebooks, and draft writings; personal and professional correspondence; and conference and teaching materials, dating from 1966 to 1995.
Poet, dramatist, essayist, and critic, Amiri Baraka (formerly Le Roi Jones) is a major contemporary author. As both theorist and practitioner he was the central figure of the 1960s' Black Arts Movement. Baraka's career has been divided, by his editor William J. Harris, into four periods, and that organization has guided this exhibition. They are: The Beat Period (1957-1962), the Transitional Period (1963-1965), the Black Nationalist Period (1965-1974), and the Third World Marxist Period (1974 -). This exhibition features works, bibliography and criticism, and media.
Michael Harper is one of America's most celebrated poets, having received honors and appointments from artistic organizations and academic institutions across the country, ranging from National Book Award to a Guggenheim Fellowship. He is much sought after for poetic readings, guest lectureships, and visiting professorships, and served as the Poet Laureate of Rhode Island from 1988 to 1993, and as Kapstein Professor of English at Brown University. His poetry is highly influenced by the music he loves: jazz and blues sound through the lines and often appear as inspiration, metaphor or rhythm in individual poems. Paraphrasing Ralph Ellison, Harper once said: "Relatives are people that you are born into, and have no choice about them. Ancestors are people you choose." His ancestors live on and their voices can still be heard in the lines of his verse.