The African American Women Writers of the 19th Century Guide originated from the Digital Schomburg African American Women Writers of the 19th Century site that included fully accessible published works, writer biographies, and citations for these works. In this guide, researchers will find original content from the site; direct links to plain text digital books for all and full view for many; related Schomburg collections; online resources; and much more.
The collection includes fiction, poetry, history, philosophy, Indigenous-language texts, anthropological works, photography, activist manifestos, comics, books for children, printed ephemera, and a wide range of texts which highlight the literary traditions of Indigenous communities across the continent. Sermons, speeches, and memoirs are also well represented, including some of the earliest published works by Native authors such as Samson Occom (Mohegan), William Apess (Mashpee), and Elias Boudinot (Cherokee).
Asian American Feminist Collective (AAFC) is a grassroots racial and gender justice group based in New York City engaging in intersectional feminist politics grounded within our diasporic communities. We work to interrogate and dismantle systems of racism, imperialism, patriarchy, and capitalism and are deeply invested in abolition, queer liberation, cross-racial solidarity, and collective joy.
Asian American Literature: Discourses & Pedagogies focuses on the production, collection, and distribution of accessible high quality research on Asian American Literature for students, teachers, and the general public.
The PALABRA Indigenous Voices Project is a subset of the PALABRA Archive focused on oral and written poetry and literature in Indigenous languages. All of the recordings in this section are part of the archive at large and can be found in the main "authors" and regional lists of this research guide, but are also highlighted separately on this page. PALABRA Indigenous Voices seeks to highlight contemporary Indigenous culture, and traditions and give voice to those creators who are engaged in the arduous work to preserve their heritage through literature.
This collection present ten plays written by Hurston (1891-1960), author, anthropologist, and folklorist. Deposited as unpublished typescripts in the United States Copyright Office between 1925 and 1944, most of the plays remained unpublished and unproduced until a manuscript curator rediscovered them in the Copyright Deposit Drama Collection in 1997. The plays reflect Hurston's life experience, travels, and research, especially her knowledge of folklore in the African-American South. Totaling 1,068 images, most of the scripts are housed in the Library's Manuscript Division with one each in the Music and in the Rare Book and Special Collections Divisions. There are four sketches and six full length plays in this group. Previously known mainly for her fiction and autobiography, Hurston here reveals her high ambitions as a dramatist.