Native Languages Research Guide

In order to support the Alaska Native Language Center's mission of documenting, promoting, cultivating, and revitalizing Alaska Native languages and culture, the Alaska Native Language Archive houses documentation of the various Native languages of Alaska and helps to preserve and cultivate this unique heritage for future generations. As the premier repository worldwide for information relating to the Native languages of Alaska, the Archive is responsible for conserving and facilitating access to documentation and resources on Alaska's 20+ Native languages, including through partnerships with Native organizations across the state. ANLA serves researchers, teachers and the Alaska Native communities.

AILLA is a digital language archive of recordings, texts, and other multimedia materials in and about the indigenous languages of Latin America. AILLA's mission is to preserve these materials and make them available to Indigenous Peoples, researchers, and other friends of these languages now and for generations to come.

The Digital Media Archive at the University of Chicago holds some 2,100 language collections across 270 languages. This digital project makes many of our collections freely available for research use, and tracks many others that can be made available for use by arrangement.

The Endangered Languages Project puts technology at the service of the organizations and individuals working to confront the language endangerment by documenting, preserving and teaching them. Through this website, users can not only access the most up to date and comprehensive information on endangered languages as well as language resources being provided by partners, but also play an active role in putting their languages online by submitting information or samples in the form of text, audio or video files. In addition, users will be able to share best practices and case studies through a knowledge sharing section and through joining relevant Google Groups.

Comprehensive reference information for the world's languages, especially the lesser known languages.

The Indigenous Language Institute provides vital language related service to Native communities so that their individual identities, traditional wisdom, and values are passed on to future generations in their original languages.

The JCB holds one of the world's largest collections of books containing text in one or more Amerindian languages for the period before the nineteenth century. This searchable bibliography lists nearly every book in the Library on Native American languages. Links to complete works that have been digitized and added to the Library’s collection at the Internet Archive are provided in each bibliographic record.

Languagegeek is dedicated to the promotion of indigenous languages – primarily those of North America. By providing the tools which speakers, educators, and learners can use to communicate on-line or in print, the realm of computers will no longer be the sole domain of a few global languages.

The Living Archive of Aboriginal Languages is a digital archive of endangered literature in Australian Indigenous languages of the Northern Territory. It contains nearly 4000 books in 50 languages from 40 communities available to read online or download freely.

A small non-profit organization dedicated to the survival of Native American languages, particularly through the use of Internet technology.

The PALABRA Indigenous Voices Project is a subset of the PALABRA Archive focused on oral and written poetry and literature in Indigenous languages.

Te Whanake is a set of print and digital resources for learning and teaching the Māori language. It also includes Te Aka Māori Dictionary.

The purpose of Ulukau, the Hawaiian Electronic Library, is to make these resources available for the use, teaching, and revitalization of the Hawaiian language and for a broader and deeper understanding of Hawaiʻi.