LibGuides: EDUC 1680: Histories of Race and Education in the United States: Finding Digital Primary Sources

Black + African American Education Histories

Subscription Databases @ Brown

African American Communities This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to primary sources from the early 19th to the early 21st centuries
Early 19th century to early 21st century; focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource-presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
African American Historical Serials Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archival periodicals documenting the history of African American religious life and culture, 1829-1922
1829-1922; the African American Historical Serials Collection is an archive of periodicals that document the history of African American religious life and culture. It includes newspapers and magazines, plus reports and annuals from African American religious organizations including churches and social service agencies.
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to primary source material, including government records and personal papers documenting the civil rights movement in the United States
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century consists of four modules: two modules of Federal Government Records, and two modules of Organizational Records and Personal Papers, offering unique documentation and a variety of perspectives on the 20th-century fight for freedom. Major collections in these modules include Civil Rights records from the Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, and George H. W. Bush presidencies; the Martin Luther King FBI File and FBI Files on locations of major civil rights demonstrations like Montgomery and Selma, Alabama or St. Augustine, Florida; and the records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC), National Association of Colored Womens Clubs (NACWC), Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), and the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE).
Black LIfe in America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to global news sources, including current and historical Black publications; early 18th century-present.
Early 18th century --present; this collection covers many topical categories such as slavery and flights to freedom, voting rights and voter suppression and disenfranchisement, segregation and civil rights, prejudice and discrimination and activism and protest movements. The content in this database is sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection of writings by major American Black leaders covers nearly three centuries of history.
Black Thought and Culture is an electronic collection of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders covering nearly three centuries of history. It showcases the writings of teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures. In addition to the most familiar works, the collection shares previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts.
NAACP Papers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The complete digitized archives of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), 1909-1972.
1909-1972; the NAACP Papers includes the subcollections Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, Major Campaigns,Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Branch files, Youth Departmental Files, Organizational Records and National Staff Files. It is internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country. It charts the NAACP's work and delivers a first-hand view into crucial issues: lynching, school desegregation, and discrimination in the military, the criminal justice system, employment, and housing, among others. It provides a comprehensive view of the NAACP's evolution, policies, and achievements. With a timeline that runs from 1909 to 1972, users can examine the realities of segregation in the early 20th century to the triumphs of the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Voting Rights Act of 1965 and beyond.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source collections of the 19th century, covering the age of industrialization and technological innovation, political revolution, colonialism, nation building, educational reform, and other topics.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online is focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century, with archives releasing incrementally beginning in spring 2012. The nineteenth century was the first great age of industrialization and technological innovation. It was an age of political revolution and reform, nationalism and nation building, the expansion of empire and colonialism, growing literacy and education, and the flowering of culture both popular and high. It was an age that witnessed the development of the power-driven printing press and the massive explosion of written material that dwarfs the output of the centuries that preceded it. Any undertaking that attempts to synthesize the vast array of nineteenth-century content may be at best only provisionally comprehensive.
Race Relations in America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict, 1943-1970.
Based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, the Race Relations Department and its annual Institute were set up by the American Missionary Association to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict. Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Departments staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.

Open Access Databases, Resource Lists, + Projects Beyond Brown

Brown v. Board of Education: A Resource Guide, Library of Congress > Digital Collections

In 1954, the U.S. Supreme Court legally ended racial segregation in public schools, overruling the “separate but equal” principle set forth in Plessy v. Ferguson. This guide provides access to digital materials, websites and print resources.

The Black Teacher Archive, Harvard Library

The Black Teacher Archive (BTA) is a freely available digital portal centralizing materials created by professional organizations of African American educators, historically referred to as Colored Teachers Associations (CTAs). The primary holdings of the portal are 20th century serial publications by CTAs.

Brown v. Board of Education, National Archives

Educator resources related to the history of Brown v. Board of Education

Indigenous + Native Education Histories

Subscription Databases @ Brown

American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism This link opens in a new window
Formed in 1968, the American Indian Movement (AIM) expanded from its roots in Minnesota and broadened its political agenda to include a searching analysis of the nature of social injustice in America. These FBI files provide detailed information on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers resources dating from the earliest contact between Native Americans and European settlers up to the civil rights movement of the 20th century. Formerly known as "American Indian Histories and Cultures."
The wide range of material included in American Indian Histories and Cultures presents a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century. This resource contains material from the Newberry Librarys extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection; one of the strongest archival collections on American Indian history in the world.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to nearly 200 years of indigenous print journalism from the United States and Canada. Formerly known as "American Indian Newspapers."
From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada.

Open Access Digital Collections + Projects Beyond Brown

The National Native American Boarding School Healing Coalition > Search Database

The NABS Archive is a living project that will continue to grow and collect items related to the Indian boarding schools.

American Indian Boarding Schools, Digital Public Library of America

This collection of photos and documents shows what life was like for the many children enrolled in American Indian boarding schools.

Native American Boarding Schools Primary Source Set, Library of Congress

The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching.

Latinx Education Histories

Subscription Databases @ Brown

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Spanish-language newspapers printed in the United States during the 19th and 20th centuries, 1808-1980.
1808-1980; created in cooperation with the University of Houston, this digital resource represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of titles, including many published bilingually in Spanish and English
US Hispanic Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites, and blogs from U.S. publishers in both Spanish and English.
Dates vary; US Hispanic Newsstream offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from US publishers in both Spanish and English including El Diario/La Prensa (New York City), La Opinin (Los Angeles), La Prensa (San Antonio) and Extra (Chicago). All of the content in ProQuest US Hispanic Newsstream is available on the ProQuest platform and is cross-searchable with other ProQuest databases.

Open Access Digital Collections + Projects Beyond Brown

Educating Change: Latina Activism and the Struggle for Educational Equity

This collection remembers the victorious struggle for bilingual education and educational equity for Mexican Americans. Parents, teachers, and youth dared to challenge child abuse and educational neglect in their schools. Powerfully illustrated through the lives of three Mexican/Chicana women—Ramona Medina, Socorro Gómez-Potter, and Yolanda Almaraz-Esquivel—Educating Change documents a history of Mexican women’s migration and activism, and considers its relevance for today’s US Latino communities, including Providence.

A Latinx Resource Guide: Civil Rights Cases and Events in the United States >> 1968: East Los Angeles Walkouts, Library of Congress

This Hispanic Reading Room research guide focuses on 20th and 21st century American court cases, legislation, and events that had important impacts on civil rights in Chicana/o/x, Hispanic, Latina/o/x, Mexican-American and Puerto Rican communities

Chicano/a Studies Education LibGuide >> Primary Sources, UCLA Library

Your guide to Chicano/a studies research at UCLA: Find articles, books, primary sources, and more.

Asian American Education Histories

Open Access Digital Collections + Projects Beyond Brown

The Asian American Education Project

In 2005, Stewart Kwoh, a civil rights activist, saw a dire and essential need to tell the stories of Asian Americans in K-12 learning. Both he and Russell C. Leong of UCLA, were co-editors of a project to tell the stories of how Asian Americans impacted civil rights in the United States. This resource emerged out of their work.

South Asian American Digital Archive

SAADA creates a space of belonging for South Asian Americans.

Chinese American, Mexican American, and African American Trailblazers in the Struggle for Equal Educational Opportunity, Eastwind: Politics and Culture of Asian America