LibGuides: HIST 1976C: Animal, Vegetable, Mineral: Environmental Histories of Non-Human Actors: Books + Articles

Locating Secondary Sources

Articles (Databases)
Books (Digital + Print)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to more than 8,500 full text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Current; scholarly, multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community with more than 8,500 full text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Discover articles from English-language periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, 1907-1984.
1907-1984; Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.

If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html.
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or eresources@brown.edu.
Environment Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to research on environmental studies and related disciplines, including agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, public policy, and environmental law, 1888-present.
Current; The Environment Index provides abstract/index information for over 1000 titles in the area of environmental policy and studies. The product has an Environment thesaurus that will assist users in research.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, covering all aspects of human impact to the environment, current.
Current; GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.

BruKnow This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
BruKnow is the Library's platform for searching books, ebooks, databases, articles, multimedia, digital collections, and special collections, current
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Discover millions of books, journals, images and maps digitized from libraries around the world, current.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of book and ejournal titles digitized from libraries around the world. As members of HathiTrust, Brown users get PDF download access to nearly 3 million public domain or permissioned works that were a part of the Google Books digitization projects, or were contributed to the trust by other member institutions.

To login, click the LOGIN BUTTON and select Brown University from the list of institutions. If you have not already authenticated with your Brown username and password, you will then be asked to do so. While you can read articles without logging in, you will NOT be able to download articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.

If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html.
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or eresources@brown.edu.
WorldCat FirstSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of books and other materials in library catalogs around the world. Best used for advanced search of book records.