HIST 1976C: Animal, Vegetable, Mineral: Environmental Histories of Non-Human Actors

• John Hay Library: Collections A-Z

• William Whitman Bailey papers, 1856-1914 (Explore on BruKnow)

• George Early Church Collection (Explore on BruKnow)

• History of Science, Mathematics, Technology Collections

• Albert E. Lownes Collection of Significant Books in the History of Science (Explore on BruKnow)

• History of Science Collection (Explore on BruKnow)

• Audubon's Birds of America (Explore on BruKnow)

• Snell Mycology Collection (In Processing)

The Gildor Family Special Collections Reading Room is open to all researchers by appointment only. The reading room hours are Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday from 10am - 5pm, with a lunch recess from 12-1 pm and Wednesday from 11am - 6pm with a lunch recess from 1 - 2pm. See Library hours for additional information. 

PREPARING FOR YOUR VISIT

• All Special Collections materials are non-circulating and are available for use in the reading room by appointment only. 
• Appointments are required and must be booked at least 3 days in advance and up to 180 days in advance.
• Seats are limited and appointment bookings are first-come, first served. We cannot guarantee the availability of your preferred appointment dates/times. 
• Researchers may request up to six items per appointment which will be prepared in advance by library staff.
• Appointment requests are not finalized until an appointment confimation email has been received.
• Class visits, joint research appointments and instructional sessions must be scheduled in advance. Visit our teaching guide for more information.

These videos are included to further illustrate the process of making requests and scheduling appointments. Please email hay@brown.edu if you have additional questions.

Requesting Special Collections Materials using BruKnow

Scheduling Special Collections Reading Room Appointments

Rescheduling Special Collections Reading Room Appointments