Many of Special Collections' holdings have been digitized and uploaded to the Brown Digital Repository, such as this 1914 issue of Scribner's Magazine, which features an article by Theodore Roosevelt about his natural history trip in Brazil. Click the image to view the full magazine.
BHL is the product of a worldwide consortium of libraries that have come together to digitize biodiversity literature in their collections. The open-access database contains over 60 million pages, with some resources dating as far back as the 15th century. There is a vast body of ornithological work to be found in the BHL, including scans of many of the books in our collection. Try a Boolean search for "birds" AND "New England."
Available through Brown's institutional membership to students, staff, and faculty, as well as to private subscribers, Birds of the World provides accounts of all currently-recognized bird species, more than 11,000 globally. Created by the Cornell Lab of Ornithology, Birds of the World brings together citizen science data from eBird and the Macaulay Library with existing ornithological knowledge. It is an ideal reference for those looking to contextualize the species-specific information in Special Collections' resources.
Searchable Ornithological Research Archive
This open-access database has an extensive library of ornithological literature, with a particular focus on North American journals. Digitized back issues of the Bird Observer, a New England birding journal, might be of particular interest. The archive is hosted by the University of South Florida Libraries and can be keyword searched.
The following northeastern institutions have published information on ornithology in their library collections:
Brown University Library | Providence, RI 02912 | (401) 863-2165 | Contact | Comments | Library Feedback | Site Map