To find additional sources for data and statistics in the social sciences, visit the guide to Social Sciences Data Resources.
There you'll find help getting started using statistical software including R, SPSS, Stata, and other data visualization tools.
The Library holds frequent workshops on these tools and more-- have a look at our Workshops calendar to register.
National Center for Education Statistics is the primary federal organization within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences that is responsible for collecting statistics relating to education in the U.S. and other nations.
Adult Literacy Estimates contains quickly accessible statistics on adult literacy in the United States categorized by state, county, and other area types.
American Association of University Professors is a database of salary information of professors at the nation's universities, provided by the Chronicle of Higher Education.
Child Trends DataBank contains tables and statistics on indicators relating to child education in the United States.
College Board SAT Data Tables is a collection of data on SAT test performance under various categories, such as subject, gender, and ethnicity.
College Results Online is a database provided by the Education Trust containing information on graduation rates at public and private universities available by ethnicity, gender, and comparison groups of similar universities.
Institute for Educational Sciences, headed by the Department of Education, provides statistical data on Education in the US.
Information Works! provides data from school, district, and state reports on public education in Rhode Island, and is provided by the RI Department of Elementary and Secondary Education and the National Center on Public Education and Social Policy at URI.
National Center for Higher Education Managment Systems (NCHEMS) Information Center is a collection of statistics relating to education and policymaking, and includes a "Generate Your Own Data" feature based on user-selected criteria.
National Institute for Early Education Research is a database of indicators of pre-school education policy across the fifty states.
Office for Civil Rights provides data on public school enrollment and services in the United States according to ethnicity, disability, and gender.
Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE) provides statistics on campus security at the nation's universities.
Scientists and Engineers Statistical Data System (SESTAT) is a database of educational, employment, and demographic statistics on scientists and engineers in the United States.
Standard and Poor's School Evaluation Services is a collection of data on student performance in the nation's public schools searchable by school name, district, city, or state.
Stipends for Graduate Students contains data on benefits given to graduate assistants at the top research universities in the nation, provided by the Chronicle of Higher Education.
U.S. Census Bureau provides an Education section with statistics on various topics relating to education in the United States.
Global Education Database (GED) is a collection of international education statistics, containing data collected by the UNESCO Institute for Statistics and the Demographic and Health Surveys.
International Archive of Education Data (IAED) Data & Surveys contains variables concerning funding, personnel, teaching resources, facilities, teacher and student preparation, graduation and matriculation rates, drop-out rates, test scores, job placements, life histories, life assessments, etc.
EdStats is a statistical database provided by the World Bank containing national and global data relating to education.
Organization for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD) contains data on various indicators of the progess of educational systems in the OECD member nations.
TIMSS, compiles information on math and science education around the world.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics contains an Education Statistics section on various comparative educational indicators in nations worldwide, with data in Excel, HTML, and an interactive web interface format for customizable tables.