LibGuides: Newspapers, Broadcast News & Popular Magazines: Current Newspapers

Availability of Articles

Although many of these resources are described as "full text" it is possible that not all articles will be available, especially for very recent materials. If you are having trouble finding what you need, please contact Karen_Bouchard@Brown.edu or another subject librarian for assistance. If you have full citation information, you can also use your ILLiad account to request scans of articles that we don't have.

For additional help in searching newspapers, please also see the box called Tips for Searching Newspapers on the Welcome page of this guide.

Current Newspaper Databases

Please also see the Newspapers by Title tab for information about some of the most requested newspapers.

These databases are updated daily and cover current newspapers and news sources from around the world in full text. Coverage will vary but most go back to the 1990s or 1980s. For older issues, please see the Historical Newspapers tabs.

Access World News Research Collection
- This link opens in a new window
A full text news resource of over 7,000+ local, regional, national and international sources. Updated daily, it offers primary source information on today’s issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web only, and blogs.

EUREKA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to news and current events in English, French, Spanish, and other languages, current.
Current; Eureka is a database of news and current events that contains more than 115-million articles from over 2,500 daily newspapers, journals, magazines, news wires, tv transcripts and others covering more than 20 years. Sources from every state in the USA, from every province in Canada and from all over the world bring you the latest news in English, French, Spanish and other languages.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a source for information on U.S. and international companies and executives. Includes print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers; legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.
1790-present; Nexis Uni has more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources including:

Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs
Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives
Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
Business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives
Latin American Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to recent local, national, and regional news content from Latin America, current.
Current; Latin American Newsstream includes eight Brazilian newspapers and seven Mexican newspapers. Additionally, newspapers from Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Peru, Puerto Rico, Venezuela, and other Latin American countries give added coverage and perspective. To round out the coverage, Latin American Newsstream also contains regional magazines and wire services including Noticias Financieras financial newswire focusing on finance, technology, market analysis, and regional economic trends.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
1980-present; US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune. This interface allows you to search all the titles at once.
1980-present; US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Search recent and archival U.S. national, regional, and local newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites, 1980-present
1980-present; US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full text format.

Reading the News in China, ca. 1895-1935. Photo from Okinawa Soba (Rob) via Creative Commons license.

Major U.S. Newspapers

New York Times - Academic Pass
Register for NYTimes.com using Brown e-mail address
Information on how to register for an Academic Pass through Brown, which provides unlimited access to content. The pass must be renewed annually.

Wall Street Journal -- Academic Pass
Register here for daily access to the Wall Street Journal using your Brown email address.

The ProQuest newspapers in the list below are text only, so for the most part you will not see images or advertising.

Atlanta Journal-Constitution
- This link opens in a new window
Via ProQuest National Newspapers
Boston Globe
- This link opens in a new window
Via ProQuest National Newspapers
Chicago Tribune
- This link opens in a new window
via ProQuest National Newspapers
Christian Science Monitor
- This link opens in a new window
Via ProQuest National Newspapers
Los Angeles Times
- This link opens in a new window
Via ProQuest National Newspapers
Providence Journal
- This link opens in a new window
Via Access World News.
Wall Street Journal
- This link opens in a new window
Via ProQuest National Newspapers
Washington Post
- This link opens in a new window
Via ProQuest National Newspapers

Local & Specialized News Presses

Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full text news resource of over 7,000+ local, regional, national and international sources. Updated daily, it offers primary source information on today’s issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web only, and blogs.
Access World News Research Collection is a full text news resource consisting over 7,000+ local, regional, national and international sources. Updated daily, it offers researchers and students primary source information on todays issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web only, and blogs. Provides comprehensive news and information on different perspectives on a wide variety of topics, including economics, business, political science, environmental issues, health and welfare topics, social problems, consumer affairs, education, local government, international affairs and defense, laws, sports and much more. Offering a variety of perspectives from all over the world, the important news sources in this collection are ideal for comparing and contrasting views on both local and global issues. New home of the Providence Journal.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to nearly 300 alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines
1969-present; international and interdisciplinary, Alternative Press Index provides access to nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political and social change.
Black LIfe in America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to global news sources, including current and historical Black publications; early 18th century-present.
Early 18th century --present; this collection covers many topical categories such as slavery and flights to freedom, voting rights and voter suppression and disenfranchisement, segregation and civil rights, prejudice and discrimination and activism and protest movements. The content in this database is sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), and comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press, 1959-present.
1959-present; Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press beginning in 1990. This includes ENW: A History, which covers the years 1960-1989. The experiences and contributions of African Americans, Hispanics, Native Peoples, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans and Arab Americans illuminate three critical decades in U.S. and world history.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Provides access to regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces, 1984-present
1984-present; incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc. Full text is available from 1993-present.
US Hispanic Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites, and blogs from U.S. publishers in both Spanish and English.
Dates vary; US Hispanic Newsstream offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from US publishers in both Spanish and English including El Diario/La Prensa (New York City), La Opinin (Los Angeles), La Prensa (San Antonio) and Extra (Chicago). All of the content in ProQuest US Hispanic Newsstream is available on the ProQuest platform and is cross-searchable with other ProQuest databases.