LibGuides: Egyptology and Assyriology: Home

Introduction

Brown University is unique in having a Department of Egyptology and As syriology. Here, one can pursue undergraduate or graduate study of ancient Egypt and/or the ancient Near East. This guide is an introduction to resources that the Library provides for the study Egyptology and Assyriology, with links to online reference sources for both, as well as resources that are only available in paper. The University Library also holds some primary materials in Special Collection (the John Hay Library), such as a collection of cuneiform objects, and some fragments of the Egyptian Book of the Dead on papyrus and on linen. Note that you can also find some relevant tools in some other guides, such as Archaeology, Religious Studies, the History of Art & Architecture, Classics, etc.

Individual Databases for Egyptology & Assyriology

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to more than 8,500 full text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Current; scholarly, multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community with more than 8,500 full text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers access to more than 1,800 journals across 28 arts and humanities disciplines, 1975-present
1975-present; source for information in all arts and humanities disciplines. Useful for retrieving recent articles that cite a known earlier article.
ARTstor
- This link opens in a new window
See JSTOR. As of August 2024, all images in formerly accessible via ARTstor are available in JSTOR.
ARTstor is a digital library of close to two million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, social sciences, and history of science with a set of tools to view,-present, and manage images.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays, 1949-present
1949-present; the ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Links are provided to 100,000 full text articles in ATLASerials, from more than fifty journals selected by religion scholars in the United States. Full text resources from the Religion and Philosophy Collection are also linked within this database.
Bibliography of the History of Art This link opens in a new window
The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and the Repertoire international de la litterature de l'art (RILA) cover European and American visual arts from more than 1,200 journals, 1975-2007.
1975-2007; the Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Rpertoire international de la littrature de l'art (RILA) on its website. [This resource is publicly available.]
Brill's New Pauly This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An English translation (with revisions) of the German Der Neue Pauly
Brill's New Pauly is an English translation (with revisions) of the German Der Neue Pauly which itself is the latest revision of the great multi-volume encyclopedia of the ancient world, known familiarly as Pauly-Wissowa. This resource in print was known as the Realencyclopdie der Classischen Altertumswissenschaft begun by August Pauly in 1839, with an expanded edition by Georg Wissowa published between 1890 and 1980. The New Pauly is still in progress, but includes access to the German edition, which was completed in 2003. The online version, like the print edition, includes two sections: Antiquity and the Classical Tradition.

DYABOLA
1956-present; books, book reviews, and journal articles in the disciplines of classics, prehistory and ancient history, archaeology, numismatics, epigraphy, and philology are indexed, including subject access based on the Realkatalog of the German Archaeological Institute. Most of the citations are to works not in English.
Electronic Corpus of Sumerian Literature
The Electronic Text Corpus of Sumerian Literature (ETCSL), a project of the University of Oxford, comprises a selection of nearly 400 literary compositions recorded on sources which come from ancient Mesopotamia (modern Iraq) and date to the late third and early second millennia BCE. The corpus contains Sumerian texts in transliteration, English prose translations and bibliographical information for each composition. The transliterations and the translations can be searched, browsed and read online using the tools of the website. [This resource is publicly available.]

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Discover journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, dissertations, and serials in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields, 1975-present.
1975-present; this database indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields. The database integrates four bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine.
BruKnow This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
BruKnow is the Library's platform for searching books, ebooks, databases, articles, multimedia, digital collections, and special collections, current
Online Egyptological Bibliography (OEB) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of references in Egyptological literature, 1822-present.
1822-present; includes the volumes of the previous Annual Egyptological Bibliography(AEB) combined with the Bibliographie Altgypten(BA. OEB is now a joint project with Aigyptos, and the number of available items will rise rapidly as Aigyptos records enter the OEB database. The OEB (Oxford Egyptological Bibliography) is published by the Griffith Institute, Faculty of Oriental Studies, University of Oxford, in cooperation with the International Association of Egyptologists.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt
Electronic version of a standard three-volume reference work on Egyptology from Oxford University Press. Includes articles by experts in the field, with helpful bibliographies.

PHI : Greek Documentary Texts
1996 edition (CD-ROM #7); the Packard Humanities Institute CD-ROM #7 contains over 140,000 Greek inscriptions and over 50,000 papyri. A selection of coptic texts is also available. (Available on Computer 2 in the Rockefeller Library computing cluster.) (Rockefeller Library)

WorldCat FirstSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of books and other materials in library catalogs around the world. Best used for advanced search of book records.

Databases Key

= Some full text
= Licensed for Brown
= Audio Available
= Video Available

Look for this button in search results to find full text --