Skip to main content

EDUC0850 The History of Intercollegiate Athletics

Requesting Archive Materials

Visit the University Archives website

Contact Peter Mackie, Sports Archivist

Make an Appointment

Each time you want to see University Archives materials, you will need to make an appointment in advance to reserve a seat in the temporary Special Collections reading room at the Rockefeller Library.

Please email hayreadingroom@brown.edu before noon on Friday the week prior to the requested appointment(s). You will need to specify both the date and time of day when you wish to use the reading room. Confirmation emails will be sent by noon on Sunday.

During the academic year, the reading room will be available 9:30am-4:30pm Monday through Friday, except holidays (14 Oct., 28 and 29 Nov.), and will be open only when a student has requested an appointment in advance.

Owing to space limitations, the number of appointments available each day will be limited, and the length of an appointment may have to be limited to two hours.

Only four readers can be accommodated in the reading room at any one time. Appointments are set up on a “first come, first served” basis.

If you need to cancel an appointment you have made, please email hayreadingroom@brown.edu

Edward North Robinson Collection of Brown Athletics

Representing over 150 years of athletics at Brown, this collection is an unparalleled resource of archival material relating to the study of Brown sports. Consisting of photographs, moving images, artifacts, posters, drawings, cartoons, administrative records, and publications, this collection traces the earliest days of athletic competition at Brown and Pembroke up through the modern era. This collection is supported through an endowment created by Jackson Robinson (Class of 1964), the grandson of famed Brown football coach. Edward North Robinson.

Materials from the collection are in various locations during the renovation of the John Hay Library.  Some materials are being stored off-campus and can take up to a week for staff to retrieve.  Please contact University Archives (archives@brown.edu) early in your research process.

Call numbers for collections which the Robinson Collection.  These collections include Includes media guides, play-by play accounts, programs, scorebooks and score sheets:

OF-1OG-B1: Baseball records

OF-1OG-B2: Basketball records

OF-1OG-C1: Crew records

OF-1OG-F1: Football records

OF-1OG-F2: Field hockey records

OF-1OG-G1: Golf records

OF-1OG-G2: Gymnastics records

OF-1OG-H1: Hockey records

OF-1OG-L1: Lacrosse records

OF-1OG-S1: Soccer records

OF-1OG-S2: Swimming records

OF-1OG-S3: Squash records

OF-1OG-S4: Softball records

OF-1OG-S5: Skiing records

OF-1OG-S6: Squash records

OF-1OG-T1: Track and Field records

OF-1OG-V1: Volleyball records

OF-1OG-W1: Wrestling records

OF-1OG-Z1: Intramural records

OF-1OG-Z2: Ivy League records.

OF-1OG-Z3: Interscholastic Track Meet programs