Skip to main content

Italian Studies

Magazines Digitized by Brown University Library

Critica fascista: revista quindicinale del fascismo
Critica fascista, founded by Giuseppe Bottai, was published between 1923 and 1943. Available to the Brown community through the Brown Digital Repository. Click here to access the collection. Authentication is necessary.

La difesa della razza
A biweekly newspaper published between in August 5, 1938 and June 20, 1943. Its goal was to foster racism through biological and scientific arguments. Available to the Brown community through the Brown Digital Repository. Click here to access the collection. Authentication is necessary.

Newspapers Digitized by Brown University Library

Garibaldi & the 19th Century Illustrated Press
The pictorial newspaper made its appearance in Europe in the early 19th century and by mid-century was well established. Leading papers including the Illustrated London News, l'Illustration, and the Illustrierte Leipzig, and in the United States, Leslie's and Harper's Weekly, were popular subscriptions with the middle and upper classes. Garibaldi's flamboyant character and his attempts towards the unification of Italy were frequently profiled in this media.

It includes issues from Illustrated London News, Illustrated London Times [forthcoming], Illustration: Journal Universel, Le Monde Illustré, Nouvel Illustré, Le Petit Journal, Univers Illustré, Suisse illustré, Geschichtsfreund, Illustrirte Hausfreund, Illustrirte Zeitung and Ueber Land und Meer.

Licensed Historical Periodicals and Newspapers

APS Online: 1740-1940; the American Periodicals database indexes periodicals from that time period, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

Nineteenth Century U. S. Newspapers: Provides access to approximately 1.5 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life among other subjects.

Proquest Historical Newspapers: These historical newspapers offer full text and full image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. Please click on the links below to search each newspaper. To search more than one newspaper at the same time, click on one of your titles, then use the link for "News and Newspapers" to open the selection box and uncheck the boxes for any newspapers that you do not wish to search.

Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982; contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.

Times (London) Digital Archive: 1795-1985; researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.

Your Librarian

Patricia Figueroa's picture
Patricia Figueroa
Contact:
E-mail (preferred): Patricia_Figueroa@brown.edu

Phone: (401) 863-1836

Office: John Hay Library, Room 305 (please contact me via e-mail to schedule an appointment)