Skip to main content

HIST0556 Sports in American History

Contacts

Peter Mackie is the Sports Archivist for University Archives and may be reached at Peter_Mackie@Brown.edu

The main email address for University Archives is Archives@Brown.edu

Material may be requested through Josiah, if there is a record. Use the Request-Access link to enter the Special Collections Request System. If there is no Josiah record or you have questions about the material, contact Archives for assistance.

University Archivist Jennifer Betts has created a subject guide to Athletics at Brown:

Edward North Robinson Collection of Brown Athletics

Representing over 150 years of athletics at Brown, this collection is an unparalleled resource of archival material relating to the study of Brown sports. Consisting of photographs, moving images, artifacts, posters, drawings, cartoons, administrative records, and publications, this collection traces the earliest days of athletic competition at Brown and Pembroke up through the modern era. This collection is supported through an endowment created by Jackson Robinson (Class of 1964), the grandson of famed Brown football coach Edward North Robinson.

Please contact University Archives for assistance in using this collection.

Call numbers for sub-collections within the Robinson Collection.  These sub-collections include Includes media guides, play-by play accounts, programs, scorebooks and score sheets:

OF-1OG-B1: Baseball records

OF-1OG-B2: Basketball records

OF-1OG-C1: Crew records

OF-1OG-F1: Football records

OF-1OG-F2: Field hockey records

OF-1OG-G1: Golf records

OF-1OG-G2: Gymnastics records

OF-1OG-H1: Hockey records

OF-1OG-L1: Lacrosse records

OF-1OG-S1: Soccer records

OF-1OG-S2: Swimming records

OF-1OG-S3: Squash records

OF-1OG-S4: Softball records

OF-1OG-S5: Skiing records

OF-1OG-S6: Squash records

OF-1OG-T1: Track and Field records

OF-1OG-V1: Volleyball records

OF-1OG-W1: Wrestling records

OF-1OG-Z1: Intramural records

OF-1OG-Z2: Ivy League records.

OF-1OG-Z3: Interscholastic Track Meet programs