James Manning papers, 1761-1827, (bulk 1770-1792), MS-1C-1. See finding aid for digital surrogates.
Rhode Island College miscellaneous papers, 1763-1804, MS-1E-1. See finding aid for digital surrogates.
Manuscripts not in collections, MS-1ZX (University Archives)
Avery, William Bailey
Alden, Charles Henry
Bishop, Phanuel Euclid
Edgell, John Davis
Monroe, John Albert
Peck, George B.
Brown University student diaries, 1820- (bulk 1820-1921), MS-1R-1 (University Archives)
Brown University student correspondence, 1769-1940 (bulk 1789-1869), MS-1R-2 (University Archives)
William Mason Turner papers, 1855-1877, Ms. 77.1 (Manuscripts) A native Virginian, William Mason Turner attended Brown University, from which he received a Ph.B. degree in 1855. Following Brown, Turner enrolled in medical school at the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia for a three year course of study. After completing his studies in medicine, Turner made a tour of Europe and the Middle East with a group of fellow doctors. With the outbreak of the Civil War in 1861, Turner joined the Confederate Army as a surgeon. In September that year, he was on the staff of the General Hospital at C.S. Fort Nelson in Norfolk, Virginia. He was eventually captured and spent the last months of the war in a prisoner of war camp.
Burrage, Henry S, et al. Brown University In the Civil War: A Memorial. Providence: [Providence Press Company, printers], 1868. A digitized version is available from the Internet Archive.
Books At Brown. Providence, R.I.: Friends of the Library, Brown University. 20 (1965). Two articles by historian Robert George on Brown during the Civil War. Includes an article on Brown University men who were in the Confederate army. ONLINE ACCESS
Brown University World War I correspondence, 1917-1918, MS-1E-3.
Correspondence of Alfred Gurney, Miscellaneous Manuscripts, MS-1ZX. Several letters while Gurney served in the U.S. Army.
Herbert Eugene Walter papers, 1885-1948 and n.d, MS-1UF-W1. Letters received by Walter from World War I servicemen.
Publications and Scrapbooks
Brown Alumni Monthly, July 1918.
Topic Files: Brown University-History-World War I, 1-E.
Brown in the Great War. Project by Public Humanities graduate student utilizing the resources of the University Archives and Special Collections.
Dealey, James Quayle
Hunt, E. Howard
The alumni below responded to inquiries in the 1990s by the Curator of the Anne S.K. Brown Military Collection regarding their service in World War II:
Topic Files: Brown University-History-World War II, 1-E.
Brown Alumni Magazine
The Further Reading section of the online exhibit The Vietnam War: Our Veterans' Stories exhibit includes links to articles and letters about ROTC in the late 1960s and 1970s.
Brown University Library | Providence, RI 02912 | (401) 863-2165 | Contact | Comments | Library Feedback | Site Map