Academic Video Online includes every kind of material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and news reels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. There are thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, andPeabody® winners. Academic institutions will find the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material. From Alexander Street Press.
Film Platform brings relevant and highly regarded films from the festival circuit to the Library. Their aim is to bring these important stories to the forefront of the global academic conversation. The collection is meticulously curated by film experts and leading academics to showcase critically-acclaimed documentaries of social, political and cultural importance.
Current; Kanopy is a video streaming collection of films from a large group of film producers including the Criterion Collection, PBS, Kino Lorber Edu, Documentary Educational Resources Collection, BBC Active Collection, and many others.
Database of streaming silent films from the 1890s to the 1930s, including features, serials, and shorts. Perspective is global, including films from Germany, Britain, the Soviet Union,and France. Also includes related documentaries. From Alexander Street Press.
Swank Digital Campus’ online streaming service provides instant access to thousands of feature films, documentaries, foreign films and TV shows suitable for any academic department, including history, literature, social sciences, health science and more. Swank Digital Campus has exclusive rights to many of Hollywood’s biggest studios
Non-profit organization founded to build an Internet library. Includes an extensive moving image section, as well as live music, audio recordings, texts, and more. Many are in the public domain. Freely available web resource.
Swank Digital Campus’s online streaming service provides instant access to thousands of feature films, documentaries, foreign films and TV shows. Swank Digital Campus has exclusive rights to many of Hollywood’s biggest studios, including:
• Paramount • Universal • Sony • Lionsgate • Warner Bros
Silent Film Online brings together films which represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Carefully curated, the database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s. The collection highlights works from legendary filmmakers such as Georges Méliès, Buster Keaton, Fritz Lang, Charles Chaplin, F.W. Murnau, Luis Buñuel, Ernst Lubitsch, Victor Sjostrom, Erich von Stroheim, Carl T. Dreyer, Edwin S. Porter, and many others. From Alexander Street Press.
RISD resources must be used on the RISD campus. Brown students may use the RISD Library with a Brown ID.
Cinema Image Gallery
The Cinema Image Gallery is one of the world’s finest and most comprehensive online collections of still images from movies, television and the entertainment industry. It presents the history of movie-making, still images of films in production, directors working on-set with the stars, set, costume and production design, as well as, hair and make-up shots and rare behind-the-scenes material. Cinema Image Gallery also offers an extensive TV stills archive, covering comedies, dramas, series, TV movies, game shows and thousands of pictures of the stars in this medium. Cinema Image Gallery includes over 217,000 superior-quality images, along with a treasure-trove of over 6,200 poster art and lobby cards used to promote the movies.