Skip to main content

Zines at Brown University and in Rhode Island

Librarian for Literary & Popular Culture Collections

Heather Cole's picture
Heather Cole

Contact:
John Hay Library
Room 306
401-863-1512
Website

Nancy L. Buc '65, Pembroke Center Archivist

Mary Murphy's picture
Mary Murphy
Contact:
Brown University
172 Meeting Street
Providence, RI 02912
401-863-6268
Website

How to Use This Guide

Brown University is proud to offer two zine collections as well as individual zines by title. The first is the Sarah Doyle Zine Collection and the second is the Malana Krongelb Zine Collection. Both collections focus on zines by and about people of color, lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and other queer peoples, and disabled individuals, among other groups. Topics include interpersonal violence, sex and relationships, sex work, the prison industrial complex, self-care, feminism, and punk. We encourage you to use them to unwind, for your research, and as class material.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This guide will help you locate and use zine collections from Brown University and throughout Rhode Island. It is arranged into four sections: Home; Zines at Brown University; Zines in Rhode Island; and Zine Code of Ethics.

On the home tab you can learn more about what a zine is and what zines do.

On the Zines at Brown University tab you can learn how to find zine collections and individual zines available at Brown, access links to finding aids and catalogs, discover zines within those collections that are by and about Brown University and its students, and find phone numbers and emails to people who can help you use these collections.

The Zines in Rhode Island tab highlights zines in Brown’s two collections that are about Rhode Island and by Rhode Island zinesters and includes links to zine collections and events outside of Brown University.

Finally, the Zine Code of Ethics tab explains how to respectfully use zines in your research and daily life.     

What is a zine?

A zine is:

  • a self-published work of about 1,000 or fewer copies
  • produced by a person or a small group
  • made for self expression, not for profit
  • a way to express ideas and share experiences that are not represented in mainstream print or media

 

 

Watch the video below for a quick history of zines, what they are, and what they do.