LibGuides: Tougaloo Exchange Scholars: Databases

Resource Guides by Subject

Use a Subject Resource Guide to get you started in your subject area.

Top Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to more than 8,500 full text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Current; scholarly, multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community with more than 8,500 full text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, 1954-present
1954-present; article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to articles, books and dissertations on world history about the 15th century to the-present.
1954-present; article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the-present. Excludes the U. S. and Canada.
International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Discover articles in political science, including public law, and international relations, 1989-present.
1989-present; abstracts information from major journals in political science, including public law, and international relations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.

If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html.
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or eresources@brown.edu.
LexisNexis Academic
- This link opens in a new window
See Nexis Uni
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the largest biomedical database in the world. The Ovid interface offers more advanced searching functionality than PubMed, and is often used in comprehensive literature review projects.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to the bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations from the Modern Language Association, 1926-present.
1926-present; the MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. The electronic version of the bibliography contains over 1.5 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses and scholarly societies in the humanities and social sciences
Project Muse is a searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. As of 6/2004, includes links to JSTOR.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and citations of behavioral and social science research from the American Psychological Association (APA), 1887-present
Web Of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scientific, social science, and humanities research; along with forward and backward citation searching capabilities, 1900-present