Skip to main content

Expanded Access to Digital Content

As a response to the global COVID-19 pandemic, many of the Library’s content providers have expanded our access to digital content in order to support remote research, learning, and teaching.

Databases

  • Bloomsbury Digital Resources (access via VPN only)
    • Arcadian Library Online 
      • The award-winning Arcadian Library Online enables easy exploration of the rich holdings of the Arcadian Library, revealing the shared cultural heritage of Europe and the Middle East across the course of a millennium.
    • Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts
      • Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts combines visual inspiration with practical advice on everything from idea generation and research techniques to portfolio development – making this the ultimate guide to a visual arts education.
    • Bloomsbury Architecture Library
      • Bloomsbury Architecture Library is a leading digital resource for the study of architecture, urbanism, and interior design.
    • Bloomsbury Collections
      • Bloomsbury Collections delivers instant access to quality research in the humanities and social sciences. It contains over 6,000 titles, featuring content from Bloomsbury’s latest research publications as well as a 100+ year legacy including Continuum, T&T Clark, Bristol Classical Press, Berg, The Arden Shakespeare and Hart Publishing.
    • Bloomsbury Cultural History
      • Offering exclusive digital access to Bloomsbury’s ground-breaking Cultural Histories series alongside an extensive eBook collection and primary sources from leading global institutions, Bloomsbury Cultural History offers students and scholars a unique approach to this diverse field of study.
    • Bloomsbury Design Library
      • The Bloomsbury Design Library gives comprehensive global coverage of the history, theory and practice of crafts and design, from prehistoric times to the present day.
    • Bloomsbury Education and Childhood Studies
      • Bloomsbury Education and Childhood Studies offers systematic and comprehensive coverage of education and childhood studies around the world.
    • Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Philosophers
      • Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Philosophers features critical biographies of individuals who have contributed to the history of intellectual thought. Growing each year, it currently includes over 8,000 thinkers from North America, Britain, Ireland, France, Germany, the Netherlands, and the Middle East.
    • Bloomsbury Fashion Central
      • Bloomsbury Fashion Central is a dynamic digital hub for interdisciplinary research in fashion and dress. Content is peer reviewed by industry and academic experts and includes interconnected major reference works, exclusive articles, scholarly eBooks, case studies, biographies, lesson plans, bibliographic guides, textbooks, video content, runway and backstage photos from fashion shows, and tens of thousands of images from museums around the world to create a rich educational resource.
    • Bloomsbury Food Library 
      • Providing an extensive collection of food content, Bloomsbury Food Library offers students, researchers, and scholars an unprecedented insight into this diverse field of study.
    • Bloomsbury Medieval Studies
      • Bloomsbury Medieval Studies offers a global perspective on this rich field of study, bringing together high quality secondary content with visual primary sources, a brand new reference work and object images in a one-stop digital resource that will open up the medieval world.
    • Bloomsbury Popular Music
      • Bloomsbury Popular Music is a unique source of scholarship and serious in-depth analysis of popular music in a global context.
    • Churchill Archive 
      • Published in October 2012 by Bloomsbury Publishing in collaboration with the Churchill Archives Centre, the Churchill Archive is a digital library of modern international history. It includes more than 800,000 pages of original documents, produced between 1874 and 1965, ranging from Winston S. Churchill’s personal correspondence to his official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders.
    • Drama Online
      • The award-winning Drama Online introduces new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides.
    • Human Kinetics Library
      • The Human Kinetics Library is built around a mission to increase the knowledge, enhance the performance and improve the health and fitness of all people around the globe through authoritative information about physical activity and sport.
    • Screen Studies
      • Screen Studies is a dynamic digital platform taking users from script to screen and beyond – offering a broad range of content from Bloomsbury, Faber & Faber and the British Film Institute to support moving-image studies.
    • Theology & Religion Online
      • Theology and Religion Online offers students and scholars a richly layered resource devoted and dedicated to research, study, and teaching in Theology, Biblical Studies, and Religious Studies.
  • British History Online (BHO
    • British History Online (BHO) is a digital collection of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a special focus on the period 1300 to 1800.
  • Expert Daily Briefings
    • Expert Briefings are impartial and actionable responses to macro-economic and geopolitical events, delivered by Oxford Analytica using a unique combination of external experts and in-house analysts, Emerald Publishing has partnered with this internationally-respected organisation to give academics access to the same information global leaders have at their disposal to assist research and learning.
  • NewspaperARCHIVE  (access via VPN only)
    • NewspaperARCHIVE is the world's best resource for historical and genealogical information. Our unique archive spans more than 400 years of family history, small-town events, world news and more. Includes access to the Stars & Stripes Archive.
  • OurEnergyLibrary
    • OurEnergyLibrary aggregates and indexes publicly available fact sheets, journal articles, reports, studies, and other publications on U.S. energy topics. It is updated every week to include the most recent energy resources from academia, government, industry, non-profits, think tanks, and trade associations.
  • Paris Musées Collections
    • Paris Musées, a collective of 14 museums in Paris, France, have made high-quality digital copies of 100,000+ artworks freely available to the public. Artists include Rembrandt, Monet, Picasso, Cézanne, and thousands of others.
  • Renaissance Society of America
    • The Renaissance Society of America has compiled a list of free resources available in Renaissance Studies, including bibliographies, catalogs, exhibitions, teaching guides, portals, and databases.
  • Rhode Island COVID-19 Archive
    • Rhode Island Historical Society and Providence Public Library have partnered to create a collaborative public archive in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. The Rhode Island COVID-19 Archive project encourages all Rhode Islanders to document their experience during this historic moment and to contribute those items to this public archive.
  • ROTUNDA (access via VPN only)
    • American History Collection
      • The American History Collection includes the sub-collections American Founding Era; Antebellum, Civil War, and Reconstruction; and the American Century. 
    • Literature And Culture
      • The Literature and Culture databases cover the works, letters, and papers of William Wells Brown, Emily Dickinson, George Herbert, Herman Melville, Emily Shore, Christina Rossetti, and Matthew Arnold.
  • SAGE Knowledge
    • SAGE Knowledge is home to an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content including reference works, academic books, professional development titles and more. This cross-media platform allows users to search and browse over 10,000 items, video, book and reference titles within the Social Sciences.
  • SAGE Research Methods
    • SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher
    SAGE Video
    • SAGE Video showcases highly relevant educational video across key social science disciplines. Each collection includes a breadth of video types to support diverse research and learning needs.