Discover articles and images about the Modernist period
Biannual; the Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism contains over 1000 articles covering all aspects of the field, ranging from broad intellectual topics within modernism to specific works and practitioners. Geographical coverage is worldwide. The content is divided into eight subfields: literature, architecture, visual arts, music, dance, theatre, film, and intellectual currents.
Provides access to scholarly and popular material from all aspects of the performing arts, from scholarly studies to snapshots of popular culture, 1864-present.
1864-present; draws its content from scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, and also indexes a variety of documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events. Performing Arts covers nearly all aspects of the performing arts, from scholarly studies to snapshots of popular culture.
Provides access to primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, 1880-2000.
1880-2000; Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive is an archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.
With approximately 1.5 million records, RILM is the largest resource for music bibliographic information in the world, including citations and abstracts to music scholarship in all formats and all global languages. Includes some full text. 1967-present; it is complemented by RIPM for pre-1967 content.
1967-present; RILM (Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale) Abstracts of Music Literature is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. RILM is international in scope with materials from 150+ countries and in more than 200 languages. There are approximately a half million records in RILM on traditional music, popular music, and classical music. Conference proceedings in go back to 1835. Search RILM and RIPM together.
Grove Music is the primary English-language music encyclopedia. It includes biographical articles with extensive works lists as well as topical essays. Updated on an ongoing basis.
Current; Grove Music Online is the authoritative resource for music research with over 57,000 articles written by over 6,000 scholars charting the diverse history, theory and cultures of music around the globe. Based on a work first published in 1879 and updated frequently, Grove has been in continuous publication for over a century and now publishes hundreds of new articles and article revisions each year.
A free video collection curated by the Jacob's Pillow Dance Festival. Dance clips from 1936 to the present day are available, including works by Anthony Tudor, George Balanchine, Ruth St. Denis, Bill T. Jones, and many others.
Contains dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century
Dance in Video contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
Provides access to full-length, high quality contemporary performance films to TV, desktop or mobile device, current.
Current; On the Boards theater is located in Seattle, WA. Founded by artists in 1978, they work to introduce audiences to artistic innovators who are defining the future of dance, theater and music whether on stage in Seattle or on the global screen. OntheBoards.tv is a website that delivers full-length, high quality contemporary performance films to your TV, desktop or mobile device.
Features a large on-demand library of recorded music, opera, and ballet performance videos, as well as broadcasts of live events from performance venues around the world.
Each year you can discover more than 100 events broadcast live from the most prestigious venues: Carnegie Hall, Walt Disney Concert Hall, Concertgebouw, Teatro alla Scala, Berliner Philharmonie, Salle Pleyel, Thtre des Champs-lyses, Verbier Festival, Salzburger Festspiele and more. You can also access the largest online collection of classical music videos in the world, with 1,500 original programmes available on demand and with unlimited access, plus hundreds of new films each year.
Numeridance is a free video database of dance curated by the Maison de la Danse, Lyon. Genres represented include: butoh, classical ballet, neo-classical ballet, baroque, Indian, African, flamenco, contemporary, traditional dances, hip-hop, tango, jazz, circus arts, and more.