Early Modern World

From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this collection now contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Subjects include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.

Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange provides a vast range of visual, manuscript and printed materials sourced from over twenty key libraries and more than a dozen companies and trade organisations around the world. These original sources will help scholars to explore the history of fifteen major commodities and to examine the ways that these have changed the world.

c1550-1850; a unique collection of primary and secondary sources; artworks; photographs and maps for the study of travel.

The database includes first lines, last lines, attribution, author, title, date, length, verse form, content and bibliographic references for over 6,600 poems within the collection. Alongside original compositions are painstakingly copied verses, translations, songs and riddles. The whole collection is situated within an assortment of manuscripts, some entirely dedicated to poetry, while others contain medicinal recipes, household accounts, draft letters, musical scores and plays. There are also several printed works, with handwritten verse additions.

Provides access to the Parker Library's remarkable collection of 559 manuscripts spanning the sixth to the sixteenth centuries; a fully-tagged version of M. R. James' well-known catalogue (A DescriptiveCatalogue of the Manuscripts in the Library of Corpus Christi College Cambridge, Cambridge UniversityPress, 1912) updated and expanded by a project team at work since 2005; and bibliographic entries for more than 6,000 secondary works and more than 18,000 citations linking those works to individual manuscripts. The site also offers access to digital copies of some editions and secondary works.

Searchable full-text access to the British Library's collection of 17th-18th century newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). Titles are from London, the British Isles, and the colonies. It is the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. More than twelve hundred titles and almost one million pages are included. 
Newspapers, newsbooks, Acts of Parliament, addresses, broadsides, pamphlets, proclamations.