Provides access to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other research materials about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States, 1967-present.
1970-present; HAPI is an online source for information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Included are complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in over 400 key scholarly social science and humanities journals published worldwide.
Provides access to more than 300 fully searchable Latin American newspapers from more than 20 countries, 1805 -1922.
1805-1922; provides 280 fully searchable Latin American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere, Latin American Newspapers offers unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region between 1805 and 1922. The Library owns series 1 and series 2 of this resource.
Developed cooperatively with scholars worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies in Latin American Studies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides that combine the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
A bibliographic database developed and maintained by the UNAM in Mexico. It offers about 350 thousand bibliographic records of articles, essays, book reviews, bibliographic reviews, short notes, editorials, biographies, interviews, statistics and other documents published in about 1,500 journals in Latin America and the Caribbean, specializing in social sciences and humanities.
An interdisciplinary database developed by the Higher Council for Scientific Research (CSIC) in Spain. It indexes Spanish journals, conference papers as well as other types of documents. Note: The search engine is not sensitive to diacritical marks.
An interdisciplinary database developed by the Higher Council for Scientific Research (CSIC) in Spain, the database indexes Spanish journals, conference papers and provides access to other types of documents. Note: the search engine is not sensitive to diacritics.
A database maintained by the University of La Rioja. It indexes over 5,000 journals primarily in Spanish with an emphasis on the Humanities and Social Sciences. It also includes a growing number of books, thesis and working documents.
The Biblioteca Ayacucho is an editorial entity of the government of Venezuela, founded on 1974. The Biblioteca Ayacucho now offers free access through CLACSO to around 250 Venezuelan and Latin American books, ranging from recent publications to classics by authors such as Simón Bolívar.
A large-scale digital library project, developed and maintained by the University of Alicante in Alicante, Spain. It provides access to the largest open-access repository of digitized Spanish-language historical texts and literature from the Ibero-American world.
This collection contains digitized cultural magazines from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Ecuador, Peru and Puerto Rico dating back to the period between 1880 and 1930.
A collection of 544 zines created 1982-2021 covering a wide variety of subjects including feminism, LGBTQ+ counterculture, sexuality, labor movements and literature. Access the finding aid for this collection through RIAMCO.
A growing collection of over 300 cardboark press publications from various countries in Latin American and in Spain. Libros cartoneros are books made from salvaged cardboard with a hand-painted or collage cover. Produced in limited editions and sold for a fraction of the cost of a professionally produced book, cartonera have become popular across Latin America since the founding of Eloísa Cartonera in Buenos Aires in 2003.
Ediciones Vigia is an independent publishing house located in Matanzas, Cuba. It was founded in 1985 by Rolando Estévez Jordán (1953-2023), who was its chief designer and draftsman, and Alfredo Zaldívar, a Cuban poet. Handmade using collaged, repurposed materials, these books are created by artisans who volunteer at the press. These uniquely produced publications, often featuring dried flowers, shards of glass, fistfuls of sand and other natural materials, are produced in editions of 200. Access the finding aid for this collection through RIAMCO.
This collection of approximately 175 items (pamphlets, books, and serial publications) focuses on Cuba under the regime of Fidel Castro. The pamphlets feature Castro’s speeches, while the books and serial publications document Cuban culture, social and economic conditions, as well as foreign relations policies. The majority of the collection concentrates on the latter half of the twentieth century (1959-1990), though some items address Cuba in the twenty-first century. The collection is comprised of, in large part, translations into English, or otherwise original works in English, published throughout the Anglophone world as well as in various sectors of Cuba’s Foreign Ministry and Cuban political presses.
Film director and theoretician Fernando Birri (Santa Fe, Argentina, 1925), who Colombian novelist and Nobel Prize recipient Gabriel García Márquez called Gran papá del Nuevo Cine Latinoamericano, was one of the founders of the new Latin American film movement, often described as a form of revolutionary or Third Cinema. The collection holds films, videos, film scripts, diaries, writings, art work, correspondence, poems, photographs, posters, audio recordings, and objects. His writings relate to his books of poetry and prose as well as his work as an educator and theoretician in film studies. Birri was also a prolific artist and has created a wide variety of artwork using all types of media including pencil, watercolor, collage, photography, and computer graphics. His artwork ranges from simple and abstract pencil drawings to complex works full of color and mixed media.
Documents including letters, certificates, and inventories relating to the institution of slavery, slaves, and indentured servants in Cuba during the 19th century. Many of the documents refer to Chinese people brought to Cuba as indentured servants or contract laborers (colonos).
George Earl Church Collection is largely composed of 18th and early 19th century monographs on Latin American politics, history, and geography, with substantial attention to contemporary anthropological studies on the natives of South America. Materials on Amerindian languages are also well represented. The collection’s most unique item is perhaps the 18th century manuscript history of Potosi, a Bolivian mining town.
The manuscript held at the John Hay Library is the primera parte of the complete work and records, as the subtitle indicates, the social and political unrest of the city, as well as its “unparalleled riches and the greatness of its magnanimous people, its civil wars and memorable cases.” Illustrations included in the manuscript portray the metallurgy work of the city, its topographical features, and historic events.
The Manuscripts Division of the Department of Rare Books and Special Collections holds an extensive collection of archives, correspondence, manuscripts, and other materials by Latin American and Caribbean authors and intellectuals.
The Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection is one of the premier libraries in the world focused on Latin America and Latin@ Studies. In partnership with the Teresa Lozano Long Institute for Latin American Studies (LLILAS), the Benson Collection is a global destination for research and study, featuring over a million volumes as well as a wealth of original manuscripts, photographs and various media related to Mexico, Central and South America, the Caribbean and Latina/Latino presence in the United States.
The papers of Colombian-born Nobel Prize–winning author, journalist, screenwriter, and key figure in Latin American history and politics, Gabriel García Márquez, consist of manuscript drafts of published and unpublished works, research material, photograph albums, scrapbooks, correspondence, clippings, notebooks, screenplays, printed material, ephemera, and electronic files.
A bibliographic database developed and maintained by the UNAM in Mexico. It offers about 350 thousand bibliographic records of articles, essays, book reviews, bibliographic reviews, short notes, editorials, biographies, interviews, statistics and other documents published in about 1,500 journals in Latin America and the Caribbean, specializing in social sciences and humanities.
Digital collections from the National Library of Mexico. Developed and maintained in collaboration with the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM).
The largest virtual repository of newspapers and magazines printed in Mexico between 1722 and 2010. Developed and maintained in collaboration with with the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM).
Provides access to works of Mexican popular culture from the end of the 19th to the beginning of the 20th centuries with illustrations by José Guadalupe Posada (1854-1913).
A digital collection dedicated to small-format literary periodicals from Argentina, containing plays, short novels and other literary texts, which used to be very popular in the Río de la Plata region during the first half of the 20th century.
Contains pulp magazines and regional literature from Argentina published 1870s-1990s. The collection provides an insight into popular fiction in the Rio de la Plata region.
Roberto Arlt was an Argentinian writer, journalist and dramatist. His writings examined the lives of European immigrants in Buenos Aires at the start of the 20th century.
A cultural center that was founded by the Cuban Government in 1959, four months after the Cuban Revolution, for the purpose of developing socio-cultural relations with others countries of Latin America, the Caribbean and the rest of the world. The center awards the Casa de las Américas Prize, one of the oldest and most prestigious prizes in Latin American literature. It also supports and publishes the work of writers, sculptors, musicians, and other artists and students of literature and the arts. It published the journal Casa de las Américas since 1961.
The ICAIC was established by the Cuban government in March 1959, soon after the Cuban Revolution. The function of ICAIC is to promote the Cuban film industry as well as distribute and exhibit films. Its goal is to use film as a powerful mass communication medium to mobilize and educate people.
The Cuban Heritage Collection is home to the largest repository of materials on Cuba outside of the island and the most comprehensive collection of resources about Cuban exile history and the global Cuban diaspora experience.
A resource for research, teaching and learning about Cuban theater and performance. It also serves as a community repository for Cuban theatrical materials and a forum to foster scholarly communication in the field. The Digital Archive includes materials digitized and filmed in Cuba and outside the island as well as resources and information related to Cuban theater, with a special focus on theater produced by Cuban communities in the United States.
This digital collection includes works by and about Cuban philosophers, scholars, clergy, scientists, and thinkers who advocated new ideas and significantly influenced the development of Cuba, particularly in the 19th Century. These intellectual leaders focused on social, political, economic, and cultural issues, and many were proponents of Cuban nationalism and independence from Spain.
The Cuban Newspapers & Periodicals digital collection includes newspapers, yearbooks, scholarly journals, magazines, bulletins, newsletters, and periodicals published in Cuba, the United States and other countries. The majority of these serials date from the 19th and 20th centuries, and the contents cover a broad variety of topics such as politics, science, religion, entertainment, literature, history, arts, and culture.
The collection provides a selection of titles from the catalog of America's Productions, Inc. (API) at the Tulane Latin American Library. The vast majority of which falls within the radionovela genre.
A cultural center focusing on Peruvian literature. It serves as a forum to Peruvian authors and offers programs and activities to disseminate information about Peruvian literature in general. It has an extensive library of national authors.
Centro is a research institute that is dedicated to the study and interpretation of the Puerto Rican experience in the United States and that produces and disseminates relevant interdisciplinary research.
The Encyclopedia of Puerto Rico is a resourced developed and made freely accessible by the Puerto Rico Endowment for the Humanities and the National Endowment for the Humanities.
The Academy of American Poets is the largest membership-based nonprofit organization fostering an appreciation for contemporary poetry and supporting American poets.
DSI is the nation’s first university-based research institute devoted to the study of people of Dominican descent in the United States and other parts of the world.
This link opens in a new window
