Skip to main content

PHP0030 Health of Hispaniola

1. Compare and contrast the Dominican Republic and Haiti to identify factors which have resulted in divergent health outcomes; 2. Use this understanding to develop a model of health determinants to apply to other developing countries.

Digital Projects on Brown Campus

Latin American Travelogues:  A digital collection of Latin American travel accounts written in the 16th-19th centuries held at the John Hay Library.

The cruise of the Scythian in the West IndiesSusan de Forest Day. London, New York, [etc.] F. T. Neely: 1899. Latin American Travelogues.

 

John Carter Brown Library Archive of Early American Images: Graphic representations of the colonial Americas from 1492 to ca. 1825.

Detail from [Columbus speaks to native American chief]. La Colombiade, ou La foi portée au Nouveau Monde, poëme... Madame (Marie-Anne) Du Boccage. A Paris: Chez Desaint & Saillant, rue S. Jean de Beauvais. Durand, rue du Foin, vis-à-vis les Mathurins. M. DCC. LXI. [1761]. John Carter Brown Library Archive of Early American Images.

 

John Carter Brown Library, Haiti Collection (internet Archive): A collection of books, newspapers, and maps on the founding of the French colony of Saint Domingue, its demise through the Haitian Revolution (the world's only successful slave revolution), and the founding of Haiti.

John Carter Brown Library, Remember Haiti (Internet Archive): A web exhibit curated from a selection of works in the Haiti Collection in memory of the Jan. 12, 2010 earthquake.