Skip to main content

PHP0030 Health of Hispaniola

1. Compare and contrast the Dominican Republic and Haiti to identify factors which have resulted in divergent health outcomes; 2. Use this understanding to develop a model of health determinants to apply to other developing countries.

Oral History Projects

Subscription Databases:

American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography  2000 edition; a study of the WPA slave narratives. A massive historical collection, it includes complete records for each narrative identifying the narrator, his or her year of birth, and the county and state where the narrator was in bondage.

In the First Person: Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories, and Other Personal Narratives. In the First Person is an index to English language personal narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories. First person narratives from hundreds of published volumes--those that are publicly available on the Web and those that are held by repositories and archives around the world are included. Future updates will contain full-text sources and hundreds of thousands of bibliographic records. The index will allow users perform in-depth field and keyword searches across all letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies within Alexander Street Press databases as well.

 

Internet Resources:

Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage. This resource, which can be viewed on the web or downloaded as a pdf, guides the reader to oral history techniques they may use with members of their family or community, and includes a bibliography and sample forms.

Brown University Policies and Procedures on Research Privacy. Documents rules and procedures on research involving human subjects at Brown University.