LibGuides: Medieval Studies: Home

Introduction

The Middle Ages are generally defined as a period of European and Mediterranean history covering, roughly, the thousand years between 500 and 1500 C.E., although the term has been applied also to other parts of the world for roughly the same period. The Medieval Studies Program at Brown is an interdisciplinary undergraduate program with faculty participation from many departments. The Program also aims to support activities for graduate students who work on the medieval period in these various departments.

This guide aims to provide an entry into various resources that Brown has to offer in medieval studies, as well as links to other resources that may be available. If your research has a particular disciplinary focus, it may also be helpful to consult the guide for that discipline (e.g., History of Art & Architecture, Religious Studies, Philosophy, Music, Classics (for Latin or Greek), the various vernacular literatures, etc.)

Quick Links

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to more than 8,500 full text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Current; scholarly, multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community with more than 8,500 full text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to editorially reviewed websites and the Encyclopedia Britannica, current.
Current; a reference site for students and educators synthesizing editorially reviewed websites and the Encyclopaedia Britannica.
International Medieval Bibliography Online (IMBO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Discover articles, review articles, scholarly notes, and similar literature on all aspects of medieval studies, current.
Current; IMBO is a comprehensive, current, international bibliography of more than 300,000 articles, review articles, scholarly notes and similar literature on all aspects of medieval studies in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide. IMBO covers publications in over 30 languages, and many disciplines including Classics, English Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Medieval European Languages and Literatures, Arabic and Islamic Studies, History of Education, Art History, Music, Theatre and Performance Arts, Rhetoric and Communication Studies. To search, scroll down and click on the "Enter Databases" button. Select International Medieval Bibliography from the list.

Databases Key

= Some full text
= Licensed for Brown
= Audio Available
= Video Available

Look for this button in search results to find full text --