Skip to main content

ANTH 1911 Gender and Sexuality in the Middle East

What is the difference between a scholarly and a popular article

A scholarly article appears in a publication, such as a journal, which is made up of articles on a narrow topic and which document and discuss the results of original research. Publishing in a scholarly journal is a method researchers use to communicate their research and share with other scholars in their field of study.

  • Authorship: Usually by one or all of the researchers who did the research.
  • Content: Often includes a review of literature previously published on this topic, methodology used in the study, and the findings.
  • Audience: The audience for these articles is usually discipline specific, and as a result the language in articles is often technical and discipline-specific.
  • Peer-Review: Articles in scholarly publications have gone through an editorial review by a panel of experts (peer-review) to ensure that the article has met the requirements of a scholarly article.
  • Access: Many scholarly periodicals are only available through libraries. An increasing number are also available as open access publications.

 

A popular article appears in a magazine or newspaper that you may buy at the supermarket. The content in these publications often covers current events or summarizes research done by others. The content in these publications is often brief, written in simple language, and may include pictures and advertisements. Authors are not always named, and sources are not always identified. 

What is a Literature Review?

Research, and the literature review in particular, is a cyclical process. There is an art to the sometimes messy, thrilling, and frustrating process of conducting a lit review.

  • Read widely but selectively.
  • Follow the citation trail -- building on previous research by reviewing bibliographies of articles and books that are close to your interest.
  • Synthesize previous research on the topic.
  • Aim to include both summary and synthesis.
    • Focus on ways to have the body of literature tell its own story. Do not add your own interpretations at this point.
    • Look for patterns and find ways of tying the pieces together.

Conducting a literature review

  • Throw out a wide net and read, read, read. 
  • How many sources do you need? What types of sources? Which citation style should you use? What time period should it cover? Is currency important? What do you need to be aware of related to scholarly versus popular materials?
  • Explored synonmyms and alterntive phrases in your searches. You will eventually begin to find the same articles and materials in your searches.

Writing a literature review

  • The initial work Identify the organizational structure you want to use: chronologically, thematically, or methodologically
  • Start writing: let the literature tell the story, find the best examples, summarize instead of quote, synthesize by rephrasing (but cite!) in the context of your work

Why not just Google?

The Library owns or subscribes to literally millions of resources, specifically chosen with scholarship in mind

  • Scholarly, peer-reviewed journals
  • Books published by university presses
  • Databases that give you an efficient way to research topics in your field

The Library's resources provide access to quality information that, for the most part, is not available on the open Web.

Google, on the other hand, is a commercial venture. You can find some good material there, but the results list is based on popularity rather than on scholarly content and quality.

Types of Sources

Primary Source
Original material created at the time of the event or by the subject you are studying. This kind of material is the closest you can get to your actual subject, unfiltered by later scholars and critics.
Examples of primary sources include:

personal letters
autobiographies
original works of research
interviews/ transcripts
scientific samples
photographs
statistics
survey and poll data
newspaper accounts of an event as it happened
field notes

Secondary Source
A work that analyzes primary sources. They can also act as primary sources, depending on your subject.
Examples of secondary sources include:

journal articles
books and monographs
critical reviews

Tertiary Source
A source that indexes or otherwise collects primary or secondary sources. These sources tend to be most useful as jumping off points for your research, leading you to the more in-depth secondary and primary material.
Examples of tertiary sources include:

encyclopedias
bibliographies
dictionaries
online indices

Research Terms

Article
A work of non-fiction found in a larger publication such as a journal, magazine, or newspaper.

Citation
A brief description of a source (book, article, web page, image or other) that has been quoted, paraphrased, or used as an authority. Citation format will vary by subject area; consult the appropriate style manual. Example:

Harling Stalker, L. L. (2000) Wool and needles in my casket: Knitting as habit among rural Newfoundland women. Master's thesis, Memorial University of Newfoundland.

See also Citation Manager. 

Citation Manager
Software that helps you keep track of your sources and generates bibliographies/ works cited pages. Examples include RefWorks, Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote. For more information, see this guide to citation managers.

Database
An organized digital collection of references to published literature. Databases allow you to find journal articles, or other types of literature, on a particular topic. Many (but not all) may include full text or links to full text. Here is a list of databases available to members of the Brown community.

Journal
A collection of articles published periodically. A journal may cover a specific topic or be more general in scope, and may be scholarly / academic, peer-reviewed, general interest, or written for an interest group. Journals are found either by title or through databases.

Literature Review
A summary and synthesis of scholarly research on a specific topic. It is used to determine what research has been done on your topic, and to help you build on existing scholarship to contextualize your own work. Most common in the social sciences and sciences. One place to find literature reviews is Annual Review, which covers a wide variety of subject areas.

Monograph
A scholarly, single volume, in depth treatment of one topic, written for an academic audience. For example, Piero Della Francesca : a mathematician's art

Peer Review
Articles in scholarly publications have gone through an editorial review by a panel of experts. This process is peer review, and it ensures that the article has met requirements for publication in a scholarly journal.

For more information, see this site by publisher Elsevier: What is peer review?

Periodical
A publication appearing on a regular basis. May include articles, stories, and other writings. Examples include magazines, journals, and bulletins. Search electronic periodicals available at Brown.

Plagiarism
Using another's ideas or work without assigning credit. May be intentional or unintentional. For more information, see our guide on plagiarism.

Popular Magazine/ Periodical
A magazine or newspaper written for the general reader rather than a scholarly audience. Articles are often unsigned, sources are not always identified, and the level of writing is accessible to most readers. Popular periodicals usually include advertisements and glossy pictures. Examples include Rolling Stone, Time, Sports Illustrated, Smithsonian...and Cat Fancy.

Scholarly/ Academic Journal
A periodical comprised of academic, often peer-reviewed articles. These articles are written by scholars for scholars and students, usually signed with the author's name and affiliation, and contains citations. Examples include the William and Mary Quarterly, American Ethnologist, Nature, British Medical Journal (BMJ), October, andBlack Music Research Journal.

Subject Librarians
Subject Librarians specializes in a specific discipline or methodology. They acquire materials for teaching and research, instruct faculty and students on how best to use these materials, and assist in the research process.