LibGuides: Public Health: Home

Article databases

Some of your projects may not fall neatly into traditional health sciences categories. Databases covering areas such as sociology, urban studies, gender studies, and more are available through the Brown Library list of Databases by Subject.

PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window PubMed, from the U.S. National Library of Medicine, comprises more than 21 million article citations from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. See the abstract view for links to full text articles via Find It.
Embase This link opens in a new window Provides access to biomedical research, with in-depth coverage of pharmacology, pharmaceutical science, and clinical research, 1947-present.
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL This link opens in a new window Provides access to scholarly literature on nursing, alternative medicine, consumer health, and other allied health subject areas, 1981-present
- This link opens in a new window
Global Health This link opens in a new window Provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and other subject areas, 1973-present
- This link opens in a new window
Grey Literature Report in Public Health This link opens in a new window A comprehensive urban health resource produced by The New York Academy of Medicine between 1999 and 2016.
2000s-present; the New York Academy of Medicine began collecting grey literature in an effort to better meet the needs of internal research staff. This project developed into the Grey Literature Report in Public Health. Materials are collected in health and science policy, public health, health of vulnerable and special populations (i.e. children, women, uninsured, elderly) and those areas of general medicine and disease in which the Academy has research interests. [This resource is publicly available.]
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Provides abstracts and citations of behavioral and social science research from the American Psychological Association (APA), 1887-present
- This link opens in a new window
Web Of Science This link opens in a new window Provides access to scientific, social science, and humanities research; along with forward and backward citation searching capabilities, 1900-present
- This link opens in a new window

A-Z, Brown University Databases by subject (all)

Guidelines and systematic reviews

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Provides access to the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), a highly concentrated source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials; and Cochrane Clinical Answers, which are readable, digestible, clinically focused entry points to rigorous research from Cochrane Reviews.
- This link opens in a new window

Guide to Community Preventive Services (The Community Guide) Systematic reviews and recommendations for the use of preventive interventions
Health Evidence (Canadian Institutes of Health Research) - Systematic reviews on health promotion and public health interventions.
MMWR Recommendations and Reports
National Guideline Clearinghouse

TRIP (Turning Research into Practice) Database This link opens in a new window Provides access to evidence-based medical information, current

USPSTF Guide to Clinical Preventive Services The Guide to Clinical Preventive Services includes U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) recommendations on screening, counseling, and preventive medication topics and includes clinical considerations for each topic. This new pocket guide provides general practitioners, internists, family practitioners, pediatricians, nurses, and nurse practitioners with an authoritative source for making decisions about preventive services.
What Works for Health (RWJF) From the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation's County Health Rankings. What Works for Health provides communities with information to help select and implement evidence-informed policies, programs, and system changes that will improve the variety of factors we know affect health

Filtered searches

These tools have been developed to help you more effectively search PubMed for literature related to your research or practice area. The "pre-formulated" search strategies save time and take the guesswork out of choosing the right search terms.

Healthy People 2020 Structured Evidence Queries (National Library of Medicine and the Public Health Foundation) - Specialized PubMed searches for research articles related to Healthy People 2020 objectives.
Healthy People 2010 Information Access Project (National Library of Medicine and the Public Health Foundation) - Specialized PubMed searches for research articles related to Healthy People 2010 objectives.
PubMed Health Services Research (HSR) Queries (National Library of Medicine) - Specialized PubMed searches on healthcare quality and costs.
PubMed Health Disparities Search
PubMed Special Queries Directory of topic-specific PubMed queries and filtered searches.

Grey/Fugitive Literature

Grey Literature report and collection The Grey Literature Report is a bimonthly publication of The New York Academy of Medicine Library alerting readers to new grey literature publications in health services research and selected public health topics. In addition to this alert service, all resources are added and indexed in the Online Catalog.
AHRQ/USPSTF Contains resources related to USPSTF recommendations.
Science.gov Science.gov searches over 55 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Science.gov is governed by the interagency Science.gov Alliance.

Journals

eJournals in Health and Biological Sciences
Browse Brown's eJournal list by title or subject heading.

BruKnow This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
BruKnow is the Library's platform for searching books, ebooks, databases, articles, multimedia, digital collections, and special collections, current

Requesting Articles

How to request articles not available online at Brown.

ILLiad
ILLiad is Brown's InterLibrary Loan system, and can be used to request items not held at Brown. Faculty may also use ILLiad to request electronic delivery of journal articles held only in print.