Renaissance & Early Modern Studies

Current; scholarly, multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community with more than 8,500 full text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.

1975-present; source for information in all arts and humanities disciplines. Useful for retrieving recent articles that cite a known earlier article.

1949-present; the ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Links are provided to 100,000 full text articles in ATLASerials, from more than fifty journals selected by religion scholars in the United States. Full text resources from the Religion and Philosophy Collection are also linked within this database.

1930-present; (with selected coverage back to late 19th century) the Avery Index treats architecture and related subjects, such as city planning, historic preservation, and interior design.

Created by the Center for Scientific Information and Documentation (CINDOC) for the Higher Council for Scientific Research (CSIC) in Spain, the Bases de Datos del CSIC contains three databases that index Spanish journals and conference papers: ISOC - 1975-present; contains seventeen subdatabases in the social sciences and humanities; ICYT - 1979-present; contains ten subdatabases on science and technology; and IME 1971-present; biomedicine.

Note: The search engine is not sensitive to accents and diacritics other than the tilde in the letter n. The letter n alone cannot act as a replacement. In such cases replace n with the truncation symbol *, or copy and paste this letter from a word processing program.

This database is only available for use on-campus.

1975-2007; the Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Rpertoire international de la littrature de l'art (RILA) on its website. [This resource is publicly available.]

1972-2015; through an international perspective, FRANCIS provides citations to interdisciplinary materials for the humanities and social sciences. Topics include art, psychology, information science, archaeology, ethnology, geography, business management, history of science and technology, history and science of religion, linguistics, literature, philosophy, prehistory and protohistory, sociology, education and more. Citations include journal articles, conference papers, books, reports, and doctoral dissertations.

1954-present; article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the-present. Excludes the U. S. and Canada.

1906-present; Index Islamicus is an international bibliography of publications in European languages covering all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages, and literature. The database includes material published by Western orientalists, social scientists and Muslims.

1926-present; the MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. The electronic version of the bibliography contains over 1.5 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers.

1940-present; a current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. The Philosophers Index, considered the most thorough index of journal literature on the subject, features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews.

Current; a reference site for students and educators synthesizing editorially reviewed websites and the Encyclopaedia Britannica.

Currently in 3rd edition for some articles. All previous editions are also available through the Brill online link.

Current; provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. The LRC covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, and indexes publications such as Contemporary Literary Criticism, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Authors.

2004 edition; an illustrated collection of 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2001.

The OED Online contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3). The OED is currently being revised, with the aim of producing a completely updated third edition by the year 2010. Draft material from the revision programme will also be published online, representing the latest progress towards the new edition. More revised and new entries will be added to the online Dictionary every quarter.

Current; the core collection of Oxford Reference Online brings together 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works published by the Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. The Premium Collection offers all of the above, plus added functionality and more detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series, to enhance the coverage already provided by the Core Collection.

Over 2,600 texts (mostly scholarly editions) ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The powerful search and retrieval engine, PhiloLogic3, enables scholars to perform textual analysis, and to limit and extend both the searches and search results from various points of view.

Ongoing; based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American Bibliography, this resource serves as the foundation for research on every aspect of 17th and 18th century American life. Upon completion, Evans Digital will consist of over 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images.

From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this collection now contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Subjects include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.

Fully searchable electronic texts of 40,000 of the 100,000+ titles in Early English Books Online (EEBO) are being made available through this Text Creation Partnership. These editions are-presented in a modern format that can be accessed by topic, by date, by type of material, and various other parameters for both instructional and research purposes.

The Online Catasto is a World Wide Web searchable database of tax information for the city of Florence in 1427-29 (c. 10,000 records). It is based on the work of David Herlihy and Christiane Klapisch-Zuber, Principal Investigators, Census and Property Survey of Florentine Dominions in the Province of Tuscany, 1427-1480. [This resource is publicly available.]

This site gives access to a database (c. 165,000 records) with information about office holders of the Florentine Republic during its 250-year history. The database was developed initially by Professor David Herlihy at Harvard and Brown Universities, and then completed under the direction of Professors R. Burr Litchfield and Anthony Molho at Brown University. An edition of the Tre Maggiori, Guild elections and Birth registrations is now available. [This resource is publicly available.]

The Library of Latin Texts - Series A is the worlds leading database for Latin texts. In total, the-present version of the LLT-A contains over 63 million Latin words, drawn from more than 3,200 works that are attributed to approximately 950 authors. The texts which are incorporated are selected by virtue of their having been edited according to best contemporary scholarly practice. Independent research is undertaken to verify facts relating to the text, such as the veracity of the authorial attribution or the dating. In addition, errors in word-forms from the printed version are corrected. It covers from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). It covers all the works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, a very extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas including texts from the Reformation and Counter-Reformation. The complete works of writers such as Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, Jerome, Gregory the Great, Anselm of Canterbury, Bernard of Clairvaux and Thomas Kempis can thus be consulted. The texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from many other leading editions. This resource is part of Brepols Latin Complete and may be cross-searched via the Cross-Database Search Tool.

1400-1850; full text collection of writing by women in English with currently about 200 texts and growing. Includes a wide range of subjects and genres, and all texts are transcribed in full, including front and back matter.

Web browser LUNA allows viewing and exporting of images, including the contents of the Brown University Instructional Image Collection. LUNA also provides free access to the Luna Commons, image resources contributed by other institutional users of this software.