Citation

Collections that can be analyzed include JSTOR, Portico, Chronicling America, Doc South (open-access), South Asian Open Archives, and Reveal Digital. Datasets are analyzed using python code run in Jupyter notebooks. Tutorials and sample code (that you can modify) are available. If you would like support, please reach out to datamining@brown.edu.

 

Current; scholarly, multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community with more than 8,500 full text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.

Academic Video Online includes every kind of material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and news reels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. There are thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy, andPeabody winners. Academic institutions will find the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.

Academic Video Online covers all disciplines and subject areas, with specific strengths in anthropology, counseling & therapy art, fashion & design, business & economics, diversity studies, documentary film, feature film, education, history, music & dance, news & current events, and theatre & drama. In addition, there is content in nursing, allied health, criminal justice, engineering, and science.

Subject areas to search individually:

Art & Design
Diversity
Health Sciences
History
Literature & Language
Music & Performing Arts
Psychology & Counseling
Science & Engineering
Social Sciences

Access World News Research Collection is a full text news resource consisting over 7,000+ local, regional, national and international sources. Updated daily, it offers researchers and students primary source information on todays issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web only, and blogs. Provides comprehensive news and information on different perspectives on a wide variety of topics, including economics, business, political science, environmental issues, health and welfare topics, social problems, consumer affairs, education, local government, international affairs and defense, laws, sports and much more. Offering a variety of perspectives from all over the world, the important news sources in this collection are ideal for comparing and contrasting views on both local and global issues. New home of the Providence Journal.

Current; the AP Stylebook Online is a writing style guide for journalists. It is published and updated annually to reflect changes in writing style and new guidelines. Updated regularly since its initial publication in 1953, the AP Stylebook is a must-have reference for writers, editors, students and professionals. It provides fundamental guidelines for spelling, language, punctuation, usage and journalistic style. It is the definitive resource for journalists.

The Brown Digital Repository (BDR) is a place to gather, index, store, preserve, and make available digital assets produced via the scholarly, instructional, research, and administrative activities at Brown. Includes all of the collections in the Center for Digital Scholarship.

The Brown University Theses and Dissertations database includes over 15,000 records for dissertations written and submitted in fulfillment of Brown University degree requirements from 1893 to 2000. Included are undergraduate honors theses, master's theses, and doctoral dissertations. Records include the author's name, thesis title, degree awarded, year, granting department, and when available, thesis advisor. [This resource is publicly available.]

Current; CREDO Reference is the world's largest online reference service, offering access to 854+ electronic reference books on most subjects, including dictionaries, biographical sources, quotations, medicine, literature, music, technology, and many other interdisciplinary sources.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global Full Text is the correct name of this database. Clicking on the link will take you there.

EBSCO eBook Academic Subscription Collection is a growing ebook subscription package containing a large selection of multidisciplinary ebook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. It contains more than 113,000 titles; all titles are available with unlimited user access. Subject coverage includes art, business & economics, education, language arts & discipline, literary criticism, medicine, performing arts, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion, social science, and technology & engineering.

EBSCOhost is the interface for databases the Library subscribes to from EBSCO Publishing. There are several, including Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, Religion and Philosophy Collection, and others. This link will take you a list of the databases. For help getting started see EBSCO Tutorials.

The Films on Demand Partnership Collection is a collection of approximately 1,300 historical archival films and news videos browsable by both subject and producer.

Gale Ebooks is a collection of ebooks that includes encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research. Google Scholar includes much of Brown's library materials as well. Look for the "FindIt@Brown" button.

Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. 

If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html. 
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or eresources@brown.edu.

Current; Kanopy is a video streaming collection of films from a large group of film producers including the Criterion Collection, PBS, Kino Lorber Edu, Documentary Educational Resources Collection, BBC Active Collection, and many others.

The MLA Directory of Periodicals, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, lists over 3,700 periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are covered regularly in the MLA International Bibliography. The directory provides addresses, advertising rates, and information about submission for publication.

1926-present; the MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. The electronic version of the bibliography contains over 1.5 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers.

The OED Online contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3). The OED is currently being revised, with the aim of producing a completely updated third edition by the year 2010. Draft material from the revision programme will also be published online, representing the latest progress towards the new edition. More revised and new entries will be added to the online Dictionary every quarter.

Ebook Central is an ebook platform that integrates the strengths of ebrary and EBL, plus adds new functionality. At the core of Ebook Central is an exhaustive selection of authoritative, scholarly content 790,000 titles and 1,350 imprints from more than 650 publishers on one platform. An average of 100,000 newly published titles will be added each year.