Last Updated: Apr 7, 2014
- Routledge Performance Archive
The Routledge Performance Archive is a developing resource produced in partnership with Digital Theatre, providing unique access to an unprecedented range of audio-visual material from past and present practitioners of performance. It features technical functionalities and graphics tailor-made by digital pioneers Digital Theatre (www.digitaltheatre.com), and consists of a regularly updated collection of streamed video and audio footage with relevant critical commentary. Includes interviews with key figures in theatre history and contemporary practice; masterclasses with internationaol specialist actor trainers; unique footage; excerpted and full-length contemporary productions; and documentaries. The video material spans more than fifty years of documented work, and ranges across the entire spectrum of theatre topics.
- Dance in Video
Dance in Video will contain 500 hours of productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Included are classic performances from top ballet companies; experimental works from up-and-coming dance troupes; documentaries by and about leading choreographers; videos on dance training; and other items covering a wide range of 20th century dance styles.
- BBC Shakespeare Plays
This collection includes streaming videos of the 37 Shakespeare plays that the BBC produced for television broadcast between 1978 and 1985 in the series created by Cedric Messina. The videos include performances by some of Britain's most distinguished actors and actresses. Each play may be viewed in its entirety or each act may be viewed separately. All videos have optional closed captioning.
- Jacob's Pillow Dance Interactive
A free video collection curated by the Jacob's Pillow Dance Festival. Dance clips from 1936 to the present day are available, including works by Anthony Tudor, George Balanchine, Ruth St. Denis, Bill T. Jones, and many others.
- Silent Film Online
Silent Film Online brings together films which represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Carefully curated, the database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s. It includes the most complete, authoritative versions of the highest quality from leading distributors. Showcasing this legendary period in film history, Silent Film Online provides unparalleled streaming access to some of the most important examples of the medium. The collection highlights works from legendary filmmakers such as Georges Méliès, Buster Keaton, Fritz Lang, Charles Chaplin, F.W. Murnau, Luis Buñuel, Ernst Lubitsch, Victor Sjostrom, Erich von Stroheim, Carl T. Dreyer, Edwin S. Porter, and many others. And the perspective is global, delivering examples of the silent film movement from Germany, Britain, the Soviet Union, and France. Alongside the feature films and shorts is a selection of related documentaries.
- Jerome Robbins Dance Division Moving Image Archive
Note for users: some but not all of these videos are restricted to being viewed within the physical location of the NYPL. Please check the "Exclude location-restricted videos" box to see materials available to be viewed from outside of the New York Public Library.