Current; the Routledge Performance Archive provides access to audio-visual material from past and present practitioners of performance across a range of fifty years. Materials included encompass interviews with important figures from theater and performance history, practitioner footage, masterclasses, contemporary productions, and documentaries. New material is added every three months.
Digital Theatre Plus features high-definition live video captures of British theatrical productions, along with production information, interviews with key creative players, and teaching materials. Digital Theatre works in partnership with leading theater companies, education organizations and arts collectives in the UK to make the best theater, English, and drama resources widely available.
Drawing on 10 years of NT Live broadcasts, alongside high-quality archive recordings never previously seen outside of the NT’s Archive, the National Theatre Collection is now complete and contains 30 filmed performances.
Current; On the Boards theater is located in Seattle, WA. Founded by artists in 1978, they work to introduce audiences to artistic innovators who are defining the future of dance, theater and music whether on stage in Seattle or on the global screen. OntheBoards.tv is a website that delivers full-length, high quality contemporary performance films to your TV, desktop or mobile device.
Theatre in Video: Volume Icontains hundreds of videos, including documentaries and definitive performances of some of the worlds most important plays. From celebrated productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage of the work of Samuel Beckett, the collection covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances deliver an authentic, behind-the-scenes look at hundreds of productions.
Current; Kanopy is a video streaming collection of films from a large group of film producers including the Criterion Collection, PBS, Kino Lorber Edu, Documentary Educational Resources Collection, BBC Active Collection, and many others.
Dance in Video contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
Each year you can discover more than 100 events broadcast live from the most prestigious venues: Carnegie Hall, Walt Disney Concert Hall, Concertgebouw, Teatro alla Scala, Berliner Philharmonie, Salle Pleyel, Thtre des Champs-lyses, Verbier Festival, Salzburger Festspiele and more. You can also access the largest online collection of classical music videos in the world, with 1,500 original programmes available on demand and with unlimited access, plus hundreds of new films each year.
Contains 500+ streaming videos of operas performed at the Metropolitan Opera in New York City. Includes interviews with performers and creators as available. For assistance, try the User Guide. This database has conflicts with Firefox on Mac computers. We recommend you use Safari or Chrome.
Silent Film Online brings together films which represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Carefully curated, the database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s. It includes the most complete, authoritative versions of the highest quality from leading distributors. Showcasing this legendary period in film history, Silent Film Online provides unparalleled streaming access to some of the most important examples of the medium. The collection highlights works from legendary filmmakers such as Georges Mlis, Buster Keaton, Fritz Lang, Charles Chaplin, F.W. Murnau, Luis Buuel, Ernst Lubitsch, Victor Sjostrom, Erich von Stroheim, Carl T. Dreyer, Edwin S. Porter, and many others. And the perspective is global, delivering examples of the silent film movement from Germany, Britain, the Soviet Union, and France. Alongside the feature films and shorts is a selection of related documentaries.
Numeridance is a free video database of dance curated by the Maison de la Danse, Lyon. Genres represented include: butoh, classical ballet, neo-classical ballet, baroque, Indian, African, flamenco, contemporary, traditional dances, hip-hop, tango, jazz, circus arts, and more.
A free video collection curated by the Jacob's Pillow Dance Festival. Dance clips from 1936 to the present day are available, including works by Anthony Tudor, George Balanchine, Ruth St. Denis, Bill T. Jones, and many others.
Note for users: some but not all of these videos are restricted to being viewed within the physical location of the NYPL. Please check the "Exclude location-restricted videos" box to see materials available to be viewed from outside of the New York Public Library.