This is the "Home" page of the "Classics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Classics  

Last Updated: Dec 18, 2013 URL: http://libguides.brown.edu/classics Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask William Monroe

JavaScript is disabled. Chat requires JavaScript.
 

Introduction

The academic study of ancient Greece and Rome begins in the classical period itself, and includes a vast and interdisciplinary body of information that includes history, archaeology, art, language, literature, religion, and philosophy.   The collections and resources for Classics at Brown will also be of interest to readers in other departments and programs such as Religious Studies, Philosophy,  the Joukowsky Institute for Archaeology and the Ancient World, Medieval Studies, and Renaissance & Early Modern Studies.   Conversely, researchers interested in Classical studies may find it useful to look at the guides for those subjects as well. 

 

Individual Databases for Classics

Academic Search Premier    
Current; multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community. Includes full text coverage for just under 4,700 journals, including 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.

Annee Philologique    
1959-2003; subtitled A Critical and Analytical Bibliography of Greco-Latin Antiquity, L'Annee Philologique is an international, multi-lingual bibliography of all aspects of classical studies, including authors and texts, literature, archaeology, history, philosophy, and other disciplines. Includes over 375,000 citations from about 1,500 periodicals and hundreds of monographic volumes. Like the print edition, the online version of L'Annee Philologique is published approximately two years behind.

Aristoteles Latinus Database   
A part of Brepols Latin Complete this database contains those texts that have been critically edited in the printedAristoteles Latinus series. Other corpora complete the database, whether editions that have already been published or ones in preparation or unpublished, to produce the finished Aristoteles Latinus. This electronic edition provides an integrated database of all the medieval translations of Aristotle's work. The electronic database is not identical to the printed edition, as it omits the prefaces describing the manuscript tradition; nor does it include the apparatus of variant readings, the Greek-Latin comparative apparatus, or the bilingual indexes of the printed version.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index    
1975-present; source for information in all arts and humanities disciplines. Useful for retrieving recent articles that cite a known earlier article.

Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina   
The BTL Online database provides electronic access to all editions of Latin texts published in the Bibliotheca Teubneriana, ranging from antiquity and late antiquity to medieval and neo-Latin texts. Each year, the database is extended by the texts of the newly printed Latin editions of the Bibliotheca Teubneriana.

Brepols Latin Complete   
A collection of works published by Brepols which have been grouped together, and may now be cross-searched at one time using the Cross-Database Search Tool.Works included are Library of Latin Texts, Monumenta Germaniae Historica, and the Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature.

Brill's New Pauly   
Brill's New Pauly is an English translation (with revisions) of the German Der Neue Pauly which itself is the latest revision of the great multi-volume encyclopedia of the ancient world, known familiarly as Pauly-Wissowa. This resource in print was known as the Realencyclopädie der Classischen Altertumswissenschaft begun by August Pauly in 1839, with an expanded edition by Georg Wissowa published between 1890 and 1980. The New Pauly is still in progress, but includes access to the German edition, which was completed in 2003. The online version, like the print edition, includes two sections: Antiquity and the Classical Tradition.

Classical Latin Texts  
A full-text database of ca. 350 authors of Latin literature (virtually all classical literary texts up to A.D. 200, together with a few later texts (Servius, Porphyry, Justinian, Zeno)), as well as the Latin Vulgate, the Hebrew Bible, the Greek New Testament, the Septuagint, the Coptic New Testament, the King James Bible, theRevised Standard Bible, and Milton's Paradise Lost and Defensionem regiam. [This resource is publicly available.] (Rockefeller Library)

DYABOLA   
1956-present; books, book reviews, and journal articles in the disciplines of classics, prehistory and ancient history, archaeology, numismatics, epigraphy, and philology are indexed, including subject access based on the Realkatalog of the German Archaeological Institute. Most of the citations are to works not in English.

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance    
1859-present; Iter's Journals Database is an electronic bibliography of interdisciplinary journal literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).Iter citations include articles; bibliographies; catalogues; abstracts; and discographies. An online version of Paul Oskar Kristeller's Iter Italicum, the most comprehensive finding list available of previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world is now included.

JSTOR   
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. 

If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html. 
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or eresources@brown.edu.

Monumenta Germaniae Historica Online   
Monumenta Germaniae Historica Online is a corpus of historical works, charters, legal texts, letters, political texts, and literature from the European Middle Ages. Contains approximately 800 texts published so far in the Monumenta series. The online texts are prepared by "Traditio Litterarum Occidentalium" under the direction of Prof. Paul Tombeur. This resource is part of Brepols Latin Complete and may be cross-searched via the Cross-Database Search Tool.

Oxford Reference   
Current; the core collection of Oxford Reference Online brings together 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works published by the Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. The Premium Collection offers all of the above, plus added functionality and more detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series, to enhance the coverage already provided by the Core Collection. Click here for a list of the publications included.

Patrologiae Gracae   
Migne's Patrologiae Gracae contains more than 160 volumes of Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.

Perseus  
Current; resources for the study of ancient Greek literature, history, art, and archaeology.

PHI : Greek Documentary Texts 
1996 edition (CD-ROM #7); the Packard Humanities Institute CD-ROM #7 contains over 140,000 Greek inscriptions and over 50,000 papyri. A selection of coptic texts is also available. (Available on Computer 2 in the Rockefeller Library computing cluster.) (Rockefeller Library)

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text   
1637-present; ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. PQDT Full Text includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350 word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150 word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDT Full Text provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text also offers researchers unlimited access to digital copies from their own institutions as well as affordable copies from others.

Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum   
Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum is an annual publication collecting newly published Greek inscriptions and studies on previously known documents. Every volume contains the harvest of a single year and covers the entire Greek world. Material later than the 8th century A.D. is not included. SEG presents complete Greek texts of all new inscriptions with a critical apparatus; it summarizes new readings, interpretations and studies of known inscriptions, and occasionally presents the Greek text of these documents.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG Digital Library)   
The TLG Digital Library now contains virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and a large number of texts deriving from the period between A.D. 600 and 1453, in excess of 80 million words. It covers a wide range of disciplines such as classics, archaeology, history, art, history, philosophy, linguistics, and theology/religious studies. The new online Web version is updated regularly with new texts as they become available.(First-time users required to register a user name and password.) See:  TLG-L, discussion list for TLG users.

Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL)   
The TLL is the largest Latin dictionary in the world, covering all extant Latin texts from antiquity to approximately 600 A.D. Includes the etymology of each Latin word and its development in the romance languages.

Subject Specialist

Profile Image
William S. Monroe
wmonroe@libraryh3lp.com/BULChat
 

Databases Key

full text icon = Some full text
licensed icon = Licensed for Brown
audio icon = Audio Available
video icon = Video Available


Look for this button in search results to find full text -- find it


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip