LibGuides: Classics: Home

Introduction

The academic study of ancient Greece and Rome extends from before the classical period into late antiquity (roughly mid-second millennium BCE to the mid-6th century CE) , and includes a vast and interdisciplinary body of information that includes history, archaeology, art, language, literature, religion, and philosophy. Some Classicists also study the reception of Greek and Latin cultures in later periods, such as the Renaissance or Enlightenment, or by cultures other than European. The collections and resources for Classics at Brown will also be of interest to readers in other departments and programs such as Religious Studies, Philosophy, the Joukowsky Institute for Archaeology and the Ancient World, Medieval Studies, and Renaissance & Early Modern Studies. Conversely, researchers interested in Classical studies may find it useful to look at the guides for those subjects as well.

Individual Databases for Classics

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to more than 8,500 full text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Current; scholarly, multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community with more than 8,500 full text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Annee Philologique This link opens in a new window
A specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations
1959-2014; subtitled A Critical and Analytical Bibliography of Greco-Latin Antiquity, L'Annee Philologique is an international, multi-lingual bibliography of all aspects of classical studies, including authors and texts, literature, archaeology, history, philosophy, and other disciplines. Includes over 375,000 citations from about 1,500 periodicals and hundreds of monographic volumes. Like the print edition, the online version of L'Annee Philologique is published approximately two years behind.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
A library of Greek and Latin literature, 1911-present.
1911-present; an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.
Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina This link opens in a new window
View all editions of Latin texts published in the Bibliotheca Teubneriana, from antiquity and late antiquity to medieval and neo-Latin texts.
The BTL Online database provides electronic access to all editions of Latin texts published in the Bibliotheca Teubneriana, ranging from antiquity and late antiquity to medieval and neo-Latin texts. Each year, the database is extended by the texts of the newly printed Latin editions of the Bibliotheca Teubneriana.
Brepols Latin Complete This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of works, including the Library of Latin Texts, Monumenta Germaniae Historica, and the Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature
A collection of works published by Brepols which have been grouped together, and may now be cross-searched at one time using the Cross-Database Search Tool. Works included are Library of Latin Texts, Monumenta Germaniae Historica, and the Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature.
Brill's New Pauly This link opens in a new window
An English translation (with revisions) of the German Der Neue Pauly
Brill's New Pauly is an English translation (with revisions) of the German Der Neue Pauly which itself is the latest revision of the great multi-volume encyclopedia of the ancient world, known familiarly as Pauly-Wissowa. This resource in print was known as the Realencyclopdie der Classischen Altertumswissenschaft begun by August Pauly in 1839, with an expanded edition by Georg Wissowa published between 1890 and 1980. The New Pauly is still in progress, but includes access to the German edition, which was completed in 2003. The online version, like the print edition, includes two sections: Antiquity and the Classical Tradition.
Classical Latin Texts This link opens in a new window
Contains Latin literary texts written before A.D. 200 and later antiquity
A full-text database of ca. 350 authors of Latin literature (virtually all classical literary texts up to A.D. 200, together with a few later texts (Servius, Porphyry, Justinian, Zeno)), as well as the Latin Vulgate, the Hebrew Bible, the Greek New Testament, the Septuagint, the Coptic New Testament, the King James Bible, the Revised Standard Bible, and Milton's Paradise Lost and Defensionem regiam. [This resource is publicly available.]

DYABOLA
1956-present; books, book reviews, and journal articles in the disciplines of classics, prehistory and ancient history, archaeology, numismatics, epigraphy, and philology are indexed, including subject access based on the Realkatalog of the German Archaeological Institute. Most of the citations are to works not in English.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.

If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html.
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or eresources@brown.edu.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Search 2 million entries spanning 25 subject areas across Oxford University Press dictionaries, companions, and encyclopedias, current.
Current; the core collection of Oxford Reference Online brings together 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works published by the Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. The Premium Collection offers all of the above, plus added functionality and more detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series, to enhance the coverage already provided by the Core Collection.
Perseus This link opens in a new window
Covers the history, literature, and culture of the Greco-Roman world, current.
Current; resources for the study of ancient Greek literature, history, art, and archaeology. [This resource is publicly available.]
Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum This link opens in a new window
Provides access to newly published Greek inscriptions as well as publications on previously known documents,-presenting complete Greek texts of all new inscriptions with a critical apparatus.
Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum is an annual publication collecting newly published Greek inscriptions and studies on previously known documents. Every volume contains the harvest of a single year and covers the entire Greek world. Material later than the 8th century A.D. is not included. SEG-presents complete Greek texts of all new inscriptions with a critical apparatus; it summarizes new readings, interpretations and studies of known inscriptions, and occasionally-presents the Greek text of these documents.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG Digital Library) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and a large number of texts from the period between A.D. 600 and 1453.
The TLG Digital Library now contains virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and a large number of texts deriving from the period between A.D. 600 and 1453, in excess of 80 million words. It covers a wide range of disciplines such as classics, archaeology, history, art, history, philosophy, linguistics, and theology/religious studies. The new online Web version is updated regularly with new texts as they become available. (First-time users required to register a user name and password.) See TLG-L, discussion list for TLG users.
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive dictionary of ancient Latin, covering all extant Latin texts from antiquity to approximately 600 A.D.
The TLL is the largest Latin dictionary in the world, covering all extant Latin texts from antiquity to approximately 600 A.D. Includes the etymology of each Latin word and its development in the romance languages.

Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek

Databases Key

= Some full text
= Licensed for Brown
= Audio Available
= Video Available

Look for this button in search results to find full text --